sudden

Not Level!(?)

Wed Jan 29, 2003 9:25 pm

To start with I want to write that this is nothing against the photographer. I like the shot, but it made me a little confused, to be honest.

I see topics now and then about shots not beeing level.
Therefore I wonder how this shot passed the screeners?
First I thought it might be an illusion, but it's not.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Antonio Carrasquilla

I'm not an expert on the subject so if I have overseen anything please explain it to me.

Aim for the sky.
Sudden
When in doubt, flat out!

thomasphoto60

RE: Not Level!(?)

Wed Jan 29, 2003 9:56 pm

You've lost me Sudden. Whats wrong with this pic? It is obvious to me that this photo was taken from the perspectve of the pilot (or someone very close by) as the plane was turning onto it's final approach. If I am missing something please point it out as I am curious what you see that I can not.

Thomas
"Show me the Braniffs"

lugonza_2001

Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:01 pm

I also believe the picture intends to make us see what the pilot´s perspective is when turning.

sudden

Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:19 pm

What I meen is that, chould not the hills and the forest be level?
As I wrote before, if I misstake myself about the rules I apologize!
When in doubt, flat out!

jwenting

Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:43 pm

According to the rules, if kept to strictly, it might have to be rejected indeed.

I guess the screeners here used their discretion.
In a shot like this, it's all but impossible to determine whether the camera was level with the floor of the flightdeck (which in this case should IMO be the deciding factor and not the horizon). There is no line parallel with the flightdeck floor visible in the shot.
I wish I were flying

timdegroot

Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:01 am

Although I like the shot I understand where this is coming from.
Both the horizon and the cockpit do not seem to be level here, should be tilted until one is level IMO.

Tim
Alderman Exit

JT8D