MIA777

Is My Camera Good Enough?

Mon Jun 23, 2003 7:02 am

I just bought a new digital camera. I have taken some photos with other digital cameras, uploaded them and recieved an unsuprising rejection. I did not care and agreed with the reasoning but I thought I would give it a shot. My new camera is the Olympus C-740 Ultra-Zoom (here are the product specs). I bought it because of its (for me at least) great zoom (10x optical). I plan on using it this summer in Tanzania while living in a small village and safariing for part of the time. However, because I also love aviation, I wanted to use it to take pictures of airplanes and was wondering if it could produce pictures that are quality enough to be accepted here on airliners.net. I know the camera is nothing compared to what you guys use but I am a novice in photography and my budget was not large. Thank you.

MIA777
MIA777

Skymonster

RE: Is My Camera Good Enough?

Mon Jun 23, 2003 7:08 am

MIA,

I know of another photographer who achieves a fairly good acceptance rate here with that same camera... Given the specs, its not the camera but the post-processing that is important. So, as far as airliners is concerned, developing your photoshop skills will be important.

Andy
There are old pilots and there are bold pilots, but there are no old bold pilots

MIA777

Mon Jun 23, 2003 7:14 am

Thank you very much for the quick response! I am excited to go to MIA tomorrow and try things out. Concerning the post-processing, is there a website I can go to that has a nice, easy to follow tutorial for using Photoshop (like altering the contrast, etc)? Thanks again.

MIA777
MIA777

B777

Mon Jun 23, 2003 9:52 am

MIA777,

That camera is more than enough!! I have seen some photos by a guy who uses that camera and his images looked great. The only bad thing about this camera is it is really hard to nail the action shots and do low light shots but it can be done with some practice.

happy shooting

MIA777

Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:00 am