xenon
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 5:12 am

DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 9:40 am

Hi,

I've been contacted for a photo usage.

They asked if I can supply the picture, so they can make
a printout of 100x75cm with 150 DPI...

The picture in question was taken with a 2.1 megapixel
camera. (1600 x 1200)

So can I forfill there demand?

This is the picture in question: (don't click if you don't want to)

http://www.airliners.net/open.file/311363/L/

Thx for the advise.

Daniel

AirTeamImages -ATI-
 
User avatar
clickhappy
Posts: 9042
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 12:10 pm

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 2:28 pm

nice shot Daniel.

Try bringing the original into PS and setting the image size to 100 x 75 with:

Image> Image Size> Document Size and then uncheck Constrain Proportions
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 4:05 pm

Hi all

Hmmmm, seems like the mail from Islandsflug has been doing the rounds.

I got it yesterday.

Cheers

Gary Watt
Aberdeen, Scotland
 
MUC_Spotter
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 4:26 am

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 4:09 pm

some small math:
100*75cm should be about 40*30inch which will bring you with 150dpi to
6000x4500 pixel.
Therefore I do not think that you will be able to supply that shot in a satisfying quality.
@Clickhappy: do you think PS will do miracles and make that size out of a 2.1MP camera?

Regards

MUC_Spotter
 
atco
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 2:30 am

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 9:56 pm

Hi Gary,

Yup, same here got that one too.

Looks like whoever offers the lowest price gets the gig  Smile

Cheers

Garry
Canon through and through
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 10:21 pm

Hi Garry

Looks like they will be using mine.....I am paying them to take it off my hands  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

Cheers

Gary
 
Skymonster
Posts: 3428
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 7:53 pm

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 10:29 pm

100*75cm should be about 40*30inch which will bring you with 150dpi to 6000x4500 pixel

To be precise, a print of 100x75cm at 150 pixels per inch (not dots per inch, there's a difference) requires an input size of 5906x4429 pixels - or around a 26MP camera if the image goes straight from sensor to output without cropping!

And therein lies the problem with shooting digital I guess... From a 10D/D60 size image, you might be able to interpolate up to that sort of size, but I'm not sure I'd want to hang my reputation on it. From anything much lower resolution, I doubt its going to work. A scan of a slide made by the right professional lab, however, could comfortably get you into that arena.

Andy
There are old pilots and there are bold pilots, but there are no old bold pilots
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 10:34 pm

Hi all

They want the images for their office walls in Reykjavik.

It's a design company that are requiring the images.

Cheers

Gary Watt
 
xenon
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 5:12 am

RE: DPI Question

Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:52 pm

Ok guys!
Thx for the explanations!

Another motivation to save for the 10D...  Big thumbs up

Daniel
AirTeamImages -ATI-
 
User avatar
clickhappy
Posts: 9042
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 12:10 pm

RE: DPI Question

Fri Jul 04, 2003 12:38 am

@Clickhappy: do you think PS will do miracles and make that size out of a 2.1MP camera?

Yeah, I did. I guess you have exposed me for the fraud that I am.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests