BA
Topic Author
Posts: 10138
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Fri Aug 01, 2003 3:03 pm

I was wondering if someone could give me some tips in scanning Kodachrome 64 slides using a Minolta Scan Dual II film scanner.

I have found K64 to be particularly difficult to scan, but with some messing around with the settings, one can get good results.

I can use either the Minolta software of VueScan.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
JayDavis
Posts: 1870
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2001 1:09 pm

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:09 am

You might contact Joe Pries, Carlos Borda and Collin.
I think they are all extremely knowledgeable with K-64.
Don't know what kind of scanners they have, but those names
stick out with me.....

Good luck !!

Jay
 
andyhunt
Crew
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2001 10:50 pm

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:35 am

Tip No.1

Don't scan with K64 Big grin

Tip No.2

Put on flame resitant suit!

Seriously, I would try with Vuescan, it has a setting specifically for K64, which is a well known hard to scan slide film. And before we get all of those "K64 kids" shouting their little mouthes off, it IS a tough film, otherwise Vuescan wouldn't have a special setting for it. Big grin

Andrew
Full frame always beats post processing
 
 
Skymonster
Posts: 3428
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 7:53 pm

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 1:24 am

All my slide scans are Kodachrome... Some of them admittedly don't stand up to today's standards as they were uploaded some time ago, but I fully endorse the VueScan recommendation as I could never get a scan I found to be acceptable off K64 from the Minolta software. Having said that, I now have a Nikon scanner and I think Nikonscan does OK on K-64.

Andy
There are old pilots and there are bold pilots, but there are no old bold pilots
 
jderden777
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2000 9:56 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 1:57 am

i would also contact Tim DeGroot...his scans that he uploads here of his and his father's slides are flawless and I've actually talked to him a little bit about scanning Kodachrome slides as well....I find them to be really tough to scan, with Fuji film being much easier (but lately after shooting lots of digital I find both hard to scan, i'm getting rusty on my scanning!  Smile)

It's a good possibility that I'll be getting the Scan Dual II or III in the near future, I have the old Scan Dual right now but I've got more than its money's worth out of it, that's for sure...

jonathan d.
"my soul is in the sky" - shakespeare
 
User avatar
BO__einG
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2000 5:20 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:35 am

those 64's are indeed hard to scan.
Fortunetly the old school HP S20 scanner that I have and that many once had does a good job of working on those slides.

I use vuescan all the time but I was not aware of the special settings for K64. Damm all that time I wasted making my own settings for this slide film. Oh well at least results come out nice.

Thesedays I am scanning Both Provia and Velvia slides and they are more easier to scan.

Ask R.Rindt as well as he too uses the very similar scanner mine (cept its a little more older) to scan all his YVR side on and AVIS shots.  Smile
Follow @kimbo_snaps on Instagram or bokimon- on Flickr to see more pics of me and my travels.
 
RayPettit
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:04 pm

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:57 am

I use a Nikon Coolsan III and on its own Kodachrome looks awful. So I bought Vuescan and it changed my life, well, not quite but it meant I was able to submit my old shots with confindence.

Once scanned in Vuescan, I crop and level the image and then clean it up in Photoshop 7. To do this, I magnify the image on the 200% setting so I can I identify all the grime (of course, I have used a soft opticians cloth carefully and a blower already). Once cleaned with the cloning tool, I rename file as (say) "G-BNLX_clean.tif". The I shrink it to 1024 across and precede to apply Unsharp Mask using Amount=70, Radius=1, Threshold=0 and then re-save as "G-BNLX_anet.tif", and then again as a jpg file on maximum quality setting 12.

Sometimes, I need to lighten the image and try to make a note of this in the filename in case I need to re-do.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Ray Pettit



I don't know if this is perfect as most of my uploads are oldies where the screeners give more tolerance, despite those great shots by Johan and Tim's father Peter. Smile/happy/getting dizzy

Ray
 
mikephotos
Posts: 2887
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2000 12:52 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 11:11 am

I would highly recommend Vuescan for doing K64 scans. I use it with my Acer Scanwit 2720s and think the results aren't that bad (nor hard to do) with the $300 scanner.

Here's a recent scan:

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/n803aw_hpa319_jfkmm_jan03.jpg



Mike
 
BA
Topic Author
Posts: 10138
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:45 pm

The problem I'm having with Kodachrome is dark areas are turning out extremely dark and with no details (pitchblack).

That is using VueScan and the Kodachrome setting.
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
LH526
Crew
Posts: 1960
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2000 2:23 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sun Aug 03, 2003 12:02 am

Hi

I used my last rolls of Kodachrome 25 on my recent trip to Chile, check out these photos, all K25:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Mario Freese
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Mario Freese



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Mario Freese
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Mario Freese



They were scanned to TIFF using a Nikon Coolscan 8000 with the special Kodachrome mode, followed by a long post processing in Photoshop on a mac.

Nothing can beat Kodachrome 25 and I'm yet sorry after being forced to switch back to K64 :-(

Mario
LH526
Trittst im Morgenrot daher, seh ich dich im Strahlenmeer ...
 
Carlos Borda
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2000 1:31 pm

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Sun Aug 03, 2003 9:02 am

I also use Vuescan for my slides and can't complain. Kody is definitely more difficult to scan than Provia. One characteristic of scanning Kody slides will be the magenta (purplish) cast.... just make sure when your in PS that you reduce it in color adjustment. I usually go anywhere between -4 to -10 depending on the severity of the cast. Good luck!

~Los
 
BA
Topic Author
Posts: 10138
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

RE: Tips In Scanning Kodachrome 64 Slides

Mon Aug 11, 2003 8:22 am

Thanks guys, here is my latest Kodachrome 64 scan. Let me know what you all think:

http://users.adelphia.net/~nabilb727/images/sunset.jpg

Regards
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests