Guest

Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 2:31 am

Hey all,

I'm looking for some help. I have at least 15 (!) dust spots on my pictures.

I've tried cleaning my CMOS with a speckgrabber but that only created more spots. I've also cleaned all my lenses.

Was wondering how you clean your CMOS' most effectively? What techniques should I use to get rid of those unwanted spots?

Cheers,
Tim
 
Unique
Posts: 1621
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:48 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:00 am

Bring your camera to Canon for cleaning, that's the only way to get rid of the spots!
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:08 am

Tim,
If you can see 15 spots, then there is most likely 45-60 on the sensor you can't see.

You can try blowing them out, but more then likely you will just blow them around to a new location. A wet swabbing with Eclipse fluid and a swab would be the next best thing to a professional cleaning.

Jeff
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:16 am

I was terrified first time I cleaned my cmos but it really isn't that scary. I use something by Resolution called DiGiCLEAN and it works great.
Just be careful and follow the instructions.
Canon repair would take time and cost a lot more. If you change lenses alot you are bound to have dust spots frequently so might as well get used to doing it yourself. Anyway that's how I figured.
/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
aagold
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:32 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:29 am

I'm with Jeff, do it yourself with Eclipse fluid and either purchased swabs or ones that you've made yourself. I, too, was scared to death the first time I did it, but I've done it a few times since I got the materials and was successful each time. Just be careful and remember the sensor is a delicate item and treat it so.

Search this forum for this topic. There was a thread just a few weeks ago that gave really good instructions on how to get the required materials and how to proceed.

Art
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:36 am

http://www.pbase.com/copperhill/ccd_cleaning

That link is full of pictures describing the process. It is painless.

Jeff
 
User avatar
Fly-K
Posts: 2994
Joined: Thu May 04, 2000 4:26 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 5:52 am

Very useful advice!

Thanks,
Konstantin
Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been...
 
wietse
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:29 am

Am I just lucky that I dont have any noticable spots (around F8) after over 7000 exposures on my D60? I hear everyone talking about dust, but I didnt notice any yet.. If I make an exposure @ F32, I see some small specks, but only about 5 of them in total.

Wietse
Wietse de Graaf
 
aagold
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:32 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:38 pm

Wietse

I know we all talk about dust spots on the CCD, but I've really begun to doubt if it really is dust. I've actually come to believe it might be condensation formed from taking the camera in and out of air conditioned areas to hot humid shooting locations. One of the reasons I doubt it's dust is from using a bulb blower to try and clean it and it having no effect at all. I figure if it was dust the spots might at least change position a little, but they don't. The only thing that makes me think it might actually be dust is that the spots are generally quite small, however, I've had a couple of really good size ones also.

Unfortunately living where I do I don't see any alternative to exposing the camera to air conditioning and then hot/humid weather. It's a fact of life.

Art
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:32 pm

Hi all

I must be very lucky as never really been plagued by dust spots on my D30.

The few that I did have were easily seen while viewing the sensor at a window and the Speckgrabber picked them up with no problems.

I've avoided brushes, blowers and swabs from the very start.

Cheers

Gary Watt
 
redfox
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 8:56 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:45 pm

Hi All

It could be the lens(s) I have a 28-200mm lens that had a small insect claim it as a home the very first time I used it!!. Can't see the squatter anymore but it must be there, along with much dust. I guess our application of photography calls for standing in dusty locations not to mention the bugs!


Stephen Fox
 
Guest

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:50 pm

Hey guys,

thanks for the good advice. I've decided to reclean everything once again with my speckgrabber. If that doesn't do the trick then I'll order the fluids mentionned above. Hope I got rid of all the spots as I have a heck of a weekend coming up.

Thanks again,
Tim
 
KingWide
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2001 7:30 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:05 pm

This probably doesn't apply to most of you but if you're a member of CPS [Canon Professional Services] then they do a free equipment clean/check as part of the service.


J
Jason Taperell - AirTeamImages
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 pm

Hi Jason

Showoff  Wink/being sarcastic

Cheers

Gary
 
Guest

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:58 pm

How much does CPS cost per year? Any conditions or can anyone join?

Cheers,
Tim ('em trainee photographa)
 
cabbott
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2000 5:09 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:15 am

Guys

Any ideas where i can lay my lands on a speckgrabber in Europe or the UK?

Thanks Colin
 
PUnmuth@VIE
Posts: 3119
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2000 9:31 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:28 am

-
 
TZ
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 9:21 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:53 am

These guys are VERY good:
http://www.crown-digital.co.uk/

Tamsin
TZ Aviation - Aeropuerto de los Banditos Team Images
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 2:14 am

To have any use at all for the speckgrabber you gotta be able to see the blob on the sensor when you peek into the chamber.
Most dust spots are way smaller than that.
/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
KingWide
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2001 7:30 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 4:40 am

:o

CPS is free but you have to own a minimum amount of gear [something like two pro bodies and 3 L lenses] and be a 'professional'. The exact definition of 'professional' is a bit flexible and each country seems to do it differently. Basically it seemed to come down, for me at least, to do you regularly shoot on commission and, therefore, need the backup that CPS provides? In my case, my motorsports stuff, was good enough for membership.

It seems to me that many of us, in gear terms, qualify for membership and it may be worth pursuing to see how far they will stretch the definition of 'professional'.

J
Jason Taperell - AirTeamImages
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 5:56 am

Hi all

Colin, like Tamsin, I got my one from Crown Photo in the UK.

I opted for the 'deluxe' screwdriver handle version  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

Cheers

Gary
 
Rotate
Posts: 1448
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 5:52 pm

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:09 pm

aloha,

Nikon cleaned my CCD allready three times this year,without sending my a bill .... , NIKON is just quality gear and service  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

robin
ABC
 
wietse
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:33 pm

NIKON is just quality gear

But it did require 3 cleanings this year allready right? So much for the quality gear  Big grin

My canon hasnt had a dustproblem at all since feb.

Wietse  Smile
Wietse de Graaf
 
glennstewart
Posts: 952
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:11 am

RE: Dust Spot Problem

Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:17 am

Canon's apparently suffer far lass CCD dust than the Nikons.
My 10D requires a puff of air once a month for complete removal of dust spots. Only about 1% of my originals seem to have dust spots in them... and only if I look hard.

Glenn
Respected users.... If my replies are useful, then by all means...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests