kaitak

Hand Holding For A Complete Beginner!

Tue Mar 09, 2004 3:05 am

I'm finally taking the plunge and buying myself an EOS 300D. Now, I've never done digital photography and I wanted to get up and running as soon as I can. Most of the features on the camera I'll get used to, over a period of time, but just a few quick questions to get me started. Please pardon the questions which might seem incredibly stupid at this stage!

- The cards I need to use: what's the best one and how much are they? How many high resolution shots can they handle?

- Do I need to set the camera to a particular Pixel setting to make it suitable for Airliners.net standard photos, or does it automatically take 6.3m pixel shots?

- What's the best way to store them? On a website, a CD or elsewhere?

- General comments, based on your experience (easy on the jargon!)

Many thanks,

Kaitak

apuneger

RE: Hand Holding For A Complete Beginner!

Tue Mar 09, 2004 3:19 am

Congratulations on your purchase. I'm sure you won't regret it. Even though some might consider the 300D as being a 'light' version of other Canon D-SLR, it can give you quite good results, depending on the lenses and the photographer.

* Use a Compact Flash. Depending on how many shots you're looking to take 'per session', go for a 256 or 512mB. Don't go for a MicroDrive. I have one and it's slower and more fragile than a CF.

* Set the resolution to 'high', 3... x 2... pixels.

* Personally I store my pics both on my hard disk and CD's. I'm a bit scared of DVD's, because when you lose one DVD you lose 4.7gB instead of 700mB on a CD.