SNBA319
Topic Author

Help: Powershot A75 & CF-card?

Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:30 pm

I am a very amateur photographer for starters. Last year i spent 3 months flying around Europe, equipped with a Canon powershot A70. It had some default brand CF-card of 32MB. I made many pics, and zipped through them quite often to endulge. Very often however i got 'corrupt data' or 'memory error' warnings, and many photos were lost or appeared 'split'.

Now i am going to buy my own camera, Powershot A75, and need to choose CF-card. I am going away for three weeks soon (nearly 40 hours around airplanes for travel Big grin), without chance of uploading to a computer, so i will need to rely on my CF-card not to mess up like that last one did. There are many reviews, but i still can't make up my mind. As i am a member of this forum i thought i'd ask the pros, maybe someone has tips for this amateur photographer  Innocent . I am looking to buy at least one 256MB card, maybe a second one(smaller). My criteria are not especially speed, but more reliability and stability. I expect to do alot of browsing though the pics in the meantime, i hope this does not damage the stored photos. choices in NL are Kingston, lexar, Dane-Elec, Sandisk (ultraII) and transcend.

cheers for any tips
SNBA319

fl350

RE: Help: Powershot A75 & CF-card?

Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:36 pm

I allways buy Lexar Professionals never had any problem with them. But maybe you should go for a 512MB to be able to store some shots on your trip.

Cheers
Fabrice Sanchez - Brussels Aviation Photography

IL76

Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:44 pm

People will probably advise you to buy the fastest, A-brand CF card on the market. And it makes sense. There are plenty of test reports on the internet showing you the performance of these cards.