ua935

Levelling Help-Please

Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:26 am

Evening,

I am new to photoshop CS and really need some assistance with rotating and levelling shots.

How do I use the grid which everyone talks about?

Is there a simple way to rotate and level photos, I realise that this must seem a simple task to most of you out there but I am having some difficulty, I really would appreciate some help.

How much and which way should I rotate the following rejection?

http://airliners.net/procphotos/rejphoto.main?filename=japan20007.jpg

Any assistance gratefully received.

Thanks Simon.

Live every second like you mean it

skyliner

RE: Levelling Help-Please

Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:35 am

In Photoshop Elements, select "rotate" in the "image" portion of the toolbar, and then "custom" within "rotate", specifying the number of degrees, and direction (right or left) that it looks like it would take to get the shot level. It's possible to use fractional degrees (0.5 or 1.7, for example) although that may be more fine-tuning than necessary. It may take several tries to get the image where you want it, and then you will need to re-crop, since the overall image has been tilted.
As for "grid", this places a cross-hatched (vertical/horizontal) pattern across the image which can be used to check for perpendicular horizon or verticals. Accessed in PS Elements via the "view" portion of the toolbar, and toggles on/off.
Hope this is helpful.
George

Lindy

Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:38 am

I'm just guessing here but in this case you should rotate this picture about 0.4 CCW. Its just a guess. But use a grid for final rotation.

Rafal
BWIADCA - Nikon D100

timz

Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:52 am

Yeah, that shot doesn't look objectionably unlevel, does it?