malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

Problem With Image Size

Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:48 pm

I have a photo, which at 1.01 MB, is too large to upload but the dimensions of 1010 x 646 are alrady below the required minimum image size. Can anyone please advise what to do in these circumstances.
Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:56 pm

.Jpeg format? That's quite the size. If you rework the original, try saving it at 1 lower jpeg compression in photoshop (if that's what you use).

James
It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 12:16 am

Thanks James.
It is a jpeg image and I use Photoshop Elements.
How do I save at a lower compression?
Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
LHSebi
Posts: 1007
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:24 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 12:21 am

Malcom,
I don't know how it is with PS Elements, but with PS CS, you can choose your compression amount after you specify the filename and where to save it. A window should pop up with a slider, and some other little tidbits.

Sebastian
I guess that's what happens in the end, you start thinking about the beginning.
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 12:22 am

It's in the second stage of the 'save as' dialogue. You get a sliding scale that usually defaults to '7'. I usually set it as high as it will go (12) but you may want to try it at 10 or 11.
It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 12:37 am

Unfortunately, PS Elements does not have the sliding scale you mention so I guess I'm stymied!
Thanks to all anyway.
Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
Jkw777
Posts: 4427
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 11:15 pm

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:34 am

Malcolm,

Send it to me via e-mail and I'll save it for you and return to you.

jkw6210 @ btopenworld . com

Cheers,

Justin  Smile
jkw6210@btopenworld.com or +447751242989
 
OD720
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 6:46 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

PS Elements 2.0 has the sliding scale the same.

Also, when you are resizing your image in the "Image Size" box, try to adjust the Pixel Size and Document Size seperately. This can be done by either unchecking the Constrain Proportions or the Resample Image boxes.
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:20 pm

OD70

Thanks, but I can assure you that I have Photoshop Elements 2 and the option is not present.
When I open the 'Save As' window, in the lower area titled 'save options',
the only choices are

Save ........... as a copy
colour ......... ICC profile
use lower case extension

There is a non illuminated outlined blank at the bottom but it isn't lit up and has no title.
I have tried all else and the only further option appears to be to crop the height further but this produces a non prefered size ratio as I cannot crop the width.

Guess I will have to save my pennies for a copy of full blown Photoshop.

Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:40 pm

That's the first screen. Then press save/save as and you'll see it in the middle of the dialogue box under "image options".
It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sun Oct 17, 2004 3:45 am

There really must be something odd about my copy of Elements 2.
There is only oner screen!
Press 'save as' then all I have is what I previously descibed.
Press 'save' and thats it
There are no image options!
Thanks anyway and don't worry,
Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
cboyes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 7:08 pm

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:18 pm

Malcolm,

In the 'Save As' dialog, are you changing the file format to JPEG? I have a funny feeling that you are not. The format field doesn't say TIFF, does it?

Rgds
CB
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:43 pm

Craig,

Most of my images are oldies scanned from 35mm negatives into jpeg format, and I always retain this format through to the finished image.
I wish I could post a screen shot of the respective window but that's beyond my limited capabilities. I still plan to buy a copy of the full Photoshop.
However, it's no big deal as they say. I've had no problem with some 1800 other images and so far only 2 have left me stumped!
Incidentally, returning for the 4th time in 6 years to South Australia next month, Fabulous country in general, can't wait!

Regards,

Malcolm.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:48 pm

1) On selecting 'save as' from dropdown menu:



2) On choosing a filename and pressing save, you should see this:



It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
cboyes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 7:08 pm

RE: Problem With Image Size

Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:56 pm

Malcolm

This is very strange. I have Photoshop Elements 2.0 and I assure you I do get the second screen mentioned above when saving a jpeg image. I wonder if there is an option somewhere that turns this off, or maybe your registry is screwed up. You could try uninstalling and reinstalling, although that wont neccessarily fix a problem with the registry settings for that application as the uninstaller may simply leave those settings intact.

I hope you enjoy your trip to SA. Like many Australians I haven't actually been there myself! I must go there one day.

Cheers
Craig
 
European
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:01 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:37 am

Hi guy's

Wonder if you can help with this;

Unsuccessful upload

Too large photo
The file you uploaded was too large, it was 2048 x 1536 pixels and had a filesize of 925709 bytes. Try to keep your photos smaller than 1600 x 1600 pixels and limit filesize to 1MB (1048576 bytes).
Around 1200 pixels in width is the ideal. If you keep it that size your photo will not be resized and will be uploaded with full quality.
Please press the back button on your web browser to upload a new photo.

How can i change the size so i can upload to a.net and mya.net?

I fsomeone could talk me through it with words it would be great, thanks

Euro
Come on Ryanair! Come on BOH! BASE BASE BASE! Flying high in the skies...........
 
malandan
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:09 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:48 am

As Mr Meldrew would say 'I can't believe it!'

As the unsharp mask has failed to function, although, strangely, the other sharpening tolls are there, I have now deleted Elements and re-installed and, wonder of wonders, it's all there. A slider adjustment of 1 did the job.

Many thanks to both James and Craig - what would old duffers like me do without the kind advice given freely by the likes of yourselves.

Story end I think!  Big thumbs up

"Many Australians haven’t actually been there ……….."

Craig, Adelaide isn't exactly the outback. It's a beautiful if quiet city by Sydney standards with stacks of thinly populated beaches nearby.
Oh I know you were only kidding!

Thanks again both.
My interest lies in the future as I am going to spend the rest of my life there!
 
European
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:01 am

RE: Problem With Image Size

Thu Oct 21, 2004 12:36 am


Hello all,

Sorted my problem now, hopefully i can put some pics on a.net/my.net

Euro
Come on Ryanair! Come on BOH! BASE BASE BASE! Flying high in the skies...........

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: river38 and 9 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos