Invader
Topic Author
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

Upload Changes For Locations

Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:07 pm

Some changes have been made concerning the upload rules for locations.

  • Country:

  • All countries are now listed in the upload dropdown menu. When the photo has not been taken in or overflying a country, the entry "International Airspace" shall be chosen from the menu. And when you don't know where the photo was taken, "Unknown" can be used.

    And now I'm waiting for the first photo from "French Southern and Antarctic Lands". Big grin

  • Location:

  • There are now four possibilities to list a location:

    Unknown
    In Flight
    Airport name
    Off-Airport plus location name

    The first three are the same as before, but the fourth one replaces the previous use of "In", "At", or "Over". When your picture has not been made at an airfield, heliport, or seaplane base, but e.g. at an off-airport exhibition, an off-airport museum, a helicopter off-heliport, etc., “Off-Airport“ should now be used, followed by space dash space and the appropriate name of the city, lake, sea, river, area, etc.

    Examples:
    Off-Airport - Los Angeles
    Off-Airport - Mont Blanc
    Off-Airport - Pacific Ocean
    Off-Airport - Lake Okeechobee
    Off-Airport - Cochrane area

    When you are photographing an overflying aircraft from an airport, but the aircraft doesn’t belong to the airfield traffic (e.g. a contrail) use “Off-Airport” too.

    When you use the Photo Index at http://www.airliners.net/search/indexsearch.main you will see that all photos which have not been taken at airfields, heliports or seaplane bases, are now conveniently arranged together, and nicely set apart from the airfield photos.

    The Country and Location Help items have been updated accordingly.

    Peter Vercruijsse
    Chief Database Editor
     
    chris78cpr
    Posts: 2733
    Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 7:44 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:39 pm

    Cheers for the clarification Peter. Would you be able to tell me if that is why i have ahd 2 photos rejected for badinfo the last few days?

    I have looked at what i uploaded them as and i cannot see why they are badinfo.

    Thanks,

    Chris
    5D2/7D/1D2(soon to be a 1Dx) 17-40L/24-105L/70-200F2.8L/100-400L/24F1.4LII/50F1.2L/85F1.2LII
     
    Kukkudrill
    Posts: 1039
    Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:11 pm

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Thu Jan 06, 2005 7:59 pm

    Would shots of or at a closed former airport or airbase count as off-airport too?
    Make the most of the available light ... a lesson of photography that applies to life
     
    Invader
    Topic Author
    Posts: 289
    Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:44 pm

    Chris,

    I don't know what you uploaded, so I cannot advise on what you did wrong. However, this new rule is only in force from today, so it cannot be the reason for rejects some days ago. Also, we are not yet too strict with this, as we fully understand that not everybody will have adapted to it immediately.

    Kukkudrill,

    No, shots of, or at closed airports should be listed with the name of that airport with "(closed)" following the airport name. Quite a few are listed in the dropdown menus, like e.g. "Malta - Hal Far (closed)" or "Hong Kong - Kai Tak International (HKG / VHHH) (closed)".

    Peter Vercruijsse
    Chief Database Editor
     
    Jaspike
    Posts: 4843
    Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:40 pm

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Thu Jan 06, 2005 9:27 pm

    I'm glad "Off-Airport" has been introduced, it's a lot easier for photographers to decide what to put for the location of a photo. For example, I've just finished the UK - England locations, and I've come across lots of photos that weren't listed as "In (place)", which I've changed. So it's all looking a lot neater  Smile

    I spent about an hour changing locations to "Off-Airport" yesterday, and so far we've got 739 entries/4837 photos listed in this way  Smile

    One more thing while we've got photographers' attention - please remember to use the auto complete function on the upload page when you have the registration of an aircraft.
    It means that you'll have correct information for your photos, and it saves us time because we then won't have to go through photos adding CNs etc.  Smile

    Tom
     
    Psych
    Posts: 2944
    Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:17 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:28 am

    Tom - thanks for your work on the database. Can I just say that I was recently caught out by using the Auto complete function on a recent submission for this photo:


    View Large View Medium
    Click here for bigger photo!

    Photo © Paul Markman



    It came up with Aer Lingus as the airline, but of course, looking at the picture the correct format for the database should be Untitled (Aer Lingus). Of course, in the end my responsibility for the error, but unless you are very familiar with all the rules for the uploading process new uploaders may too be caught out in similar circumstances. I suppose what I am saying is that we should all use the Auto complete function but still not take for granted what it comes up with, and familiarise ourselves enough with how the information should look so that we can spot such errors that will lead to a bad info rejection.

    Also, I have often noted that when using the Auto complete function it comes up with more than one c/n (or line no), because previous uploads have been incorrect and then presumably replicated on the database. Is there a facility whereby we can provide feedback to database editors on these occasions so that erroneous data can be removed once pointed out?

    All the best.

    Paul
     
    Invader
    Topic Author
    Posts: 289
    Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:55 am

    Paul,

    The Auto Complete checks the details of a specific registration in the database, however, everybody should be aware that over time the same registration can be used on different aircraft. And when it is the same aircraft, the company details can of course be different at different times, so you should always check if the details given by the Auto Complete are valid for your photo.

    At one moment in time, the details of a specific aircraft can be correct in the database. But when one photographer does not use the Auto Complete and inserts his own version of the details, the next photographer using the Auto Complete has to choose again between the original correct details and the details of that photographer who was not using the Auto Complete.

    Therefore we strongly urge everybody to use the Auto Complete, but we also strongly urge them to check the details given by the Auto Complete.

    Peter Vercruijsse
    Chief Database Editor
     
    work4bmi
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 9:51 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:27 am

    Peter,

    Well explained, and may I thank the database creaw/team for the revison. I think it will be a valuable modification.

    Thanks,

    Aaron
    Fly Around The World : Above & Beyond
     
    unattendedbag
    Posts: 2154
    Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:35 pm

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:05 am

    Would this be off-airport or should it be in-flight? It is not an air show or a museum.


    View Large View Medium
    Click here for bigger photo!

    Photo © Juan Carlos Guerra Aviation Photography of Mexico



    or is it user discretion?
    Slower traffic, keep right
     
    Invader
    Topic Author
    Posts: 289
    Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:22 am

    Unattendedbag,

    Please have a look in the Location Help item at http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/add.main

    One of the things it says is:
    "When you made the photo while you were airborne, use the following:
    When there is no airfield, heliport, or seaplane base visible in your photo, use “In Flight” from the dropdown menu without any further addition.
    When there is an airfield, heliport, or seaplane base visible in your photo, use the appropriate format for listing airfields, e.g. “London - Heathrow (LHR / EGLL)”."

    Peter Vercruijsse
    Chief Database Editor

     
    unattendedbag
    Posts: 2154
    Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:35 pm

    RE: Upload Changes For Locations

    Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:32 am

    okie, guess Juan needs to change it.

    Thanks!
    Slower traffic, keep right

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: dragonskiss, rpd14 and 16 guests