alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:08 pm

Hello.

This maybe a daft question, but I want to make sure.

Am I allowed to take photos at/of RAF bases in UK?

I remember there was an incident in Greece a few years back where people was arrested for taking photos at a military base, is it the same here??

Thanks

Alasdair
失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:20 pm

Most places are fine as long as you act sensibly - don't climb fences or enter land that you aren't meant to. Be polite and take ID with you in case you are questioned. If you are visiting bases in a vehicle make sure you don't block any emergency access points.

Are you thinking of visiting a particular base..?

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:23 pm

Generally yes. Lots of people do it. Some bases may be a bit more security conscious than others. You may want to find a military photographers forum to get more info, but I can't see any problems.

Which base(s) were you thinking of?
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:26 pm

Well, i live near to linton on ouse, and i was planning to cycle there today. I can hear planes above me now so maybe i can take a photo of one landing, or something like that. There is a small area i notice cars parking, very small can only fit 3 cars in, but i was planning on going there.
失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:31 pm

everything you ever needed to know here, by the looks of it

http://www.warplane.co.uk/AirfieldGuides/LintononOuse.htm
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:38 pm

Thanks.

I didn't know it was that easy.

失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:45 pm

Glad to help. Hope you get some nice pictures. Is it sunny at the moment like across the pennines in Manchester?
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:45 pm

Your very lucky to live close enough to cycle there. I can't think of anything better to do on a summers afternoon - cycle, watch some military aircraft have a spot of tea, cycle home - how typically British..!  Smile

Have a good afternoon.

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:48 pm

Well, i'm on the west side of the pennines, but the weather is ok. Sunny but lots of thin clouds. Thankfully, NO WIND!

失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:18 am

And there are some pics on a.net....

http://www.airliners.net/search/photo.search?placesearch=Linton-on-Ouse%20%28EGXU%29&distinct_entry=true

btw, where are you doing the aero degree??
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:41 am

Do you think Tucanos fly out of Linton then....? Big grin
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:22 am

I'm doing aero degree at UMIST. Its very good.

I've just come back now, there are some Tucanos about. I may try to get one one this website.
失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:44 am

Ahh UMIST - you have a nice red windtunnel to play with then, have they got it working yet..?

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
alasdaironeil
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:29 pm

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:55 am

We have quite a few wind tunnels, and as far as i'm aware they are all working. I was using the supersonic one in my last lab, very cool.

Though we have joined with Manchester uni now and have (I think) inherited the use of the huge wind tunnel at Barton aerodrome, which is umm, huge!!

Alasdair
失去在翻譯 - Lost in Translation
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:02 am

I was thinking about our ex Boundary Layer Tunnel, I worked for years carrying out vortex generator tests using LDA with that tunnel.
Good times.

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:48 pm

Very small world. I work out at the lab at Barton and am in charge of the 9x7 tunnel. The BLT is in our main hangar at the moment having been moved up from Bedford and we're looking for the best place to put it. Should be going back together in the next few months and there'll no doubt be a rush of our PhD students with their flow control applications wanting to use the new toy. Piezo jets are the big thing at the moment.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:59 pm

The BLT is an excellent tunnel, I spent many a long day sealing the tunnel edges so the flow would be truly 2D. I bet it won't last long in the hands of PhD students Big grin

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:16 pm

Few things do. If you want something broken give it to a student!!

The tunnel's still got the roof mounted unit in it with the twin VGs that can be rotated. Was that what you were working on? Dave Ross, model maker, was out at the lab a while ago, saw it and said "we made that".

Andy
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:27 pm

Typical ministry job that one - we've got some money to use up, lets make something! Never did get it tested correctly as they pulled the plug on us.
I was involved with tunnel testing for a few years - 13x9, 8x8, 3x4 and BLT.

You have to keep an eye on people as they move the floor (roof) up and down, you can't rotate those handles more than a few turns without adjusting it's neighbours as well, otherwise there is a loud bang, followed by a rush of student disappearing...!

Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
oly720man
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Taking Photos At RAF Bases

Fri Jan 14, 2005 8:50 pm

continuing on email before everyone else gets bored... if there are no objections
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests