billsville

Is The Photo Screening Process Flawed?

Fri Feb 25, 2005 6:48 pm

All,

Having been lurking around here for ages and viewing photos for ages I decided to start uploading some of my own. That was a bad mistake.

Having spent some hours preparing and uploading the photos (12 in all), all were rejected. The reasons given were very indeterminate. To me it seems that all photos from new people are out of hand rejected.

The photos were taken with a new D70 with new lenses. How a new camera could take photos that are tagged 'badquality' is beyond me. My background is in Television and graphics. This involves knowing what a correct white balance looks like, knowing what is sharp, knowing what is a good composition. I'm no newbie to photos, scanning, image manipulation and knowing what a good result is.

Having read the FAQ and getting no real determination on what will be accepted or rejected, I uploaded. Silly mistake.

I think the screening process is inherently flawed because...

1. No information provided before uploading on what makes a bad or good photo. If you browse the photo database the quality varies widely even on the latest additions. The FAQ seems fuzzy at best. Even the photos tips page has photos that are comparable to photos in the database.

2. A single screen process. How can a subjective process only be applied once? (the appeal process doesn't count, as you are only allowed two photos in the appeal). Photos should be screened twice by different people if there is any conjecture.

3. The reasons given for rejection are extremely vague. You open the email and it says your photo was rejected because of A or B or C or D or E. At least you could tell us what the exact reason or which area of the photo drew the ire of the screeners.