waketurbulence
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 12:33 pm

How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:20 am

Ok, I searched with no hits in the photog forum. My question involves how to get good prop arc. For an easy example take a look at this picture.
http://img149.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img149&image=mattwn55958331054cn.jpg
For this pic I used a high shutter speed and high aperture, I came out fine but with not with a full prop which is understandable. On the next pic of the same a/c when I slowed the shutter to 1/30 sec. the picture came out like I was looking at the sun, almost completely yellow. How can I fix this? I'd like my prop pics to come out more like this.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Andy Vanderheyden


Thanks for any help in advance.
-Matt
 
LHSebi
Posts: 1007
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:24 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:26 am

Hi Matt,
Well, the pic you linked to there obviously has too high a shutter speed, so the props seem frozen. Your idea to lower the shutter speed was the correct one. What camera are you using? It seems as though when you dropped the shutter speed, you didn't compensate with a raising of the aperture! If you're going to let more light onto the sensor/film through a longer shutter opening, you had better decrease the amount of light that can hit the sensor at once by raising the f-stop value! Normally the camera should automatically decide on an apropriate f-stop value for the shutter speed you selected, but maybe you had it on completely manual mode?

Hope that helps,

Sebastian
I guess that's what happens in the end, you start thinking about the beginning.
 
USAir_757
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2000 12:30 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:27 am

Tighter aperture, slower shutter speed. Only way.
-Cullen Wassell @ MLI | Pentax K5 + DA18-55WR + Sigma 70-300 DL Macro Super
 
Ander
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:14 pm

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:12 am

Hi Matt
I'll give you an example of one of mine (sorry for self plugging)
http://www.airliners.net/open.file?id=794484
This was shot hand held (a good tripod is convenient)
Exp 1/60, F14 (set by the camera) ISO 100.
Very carefully follow the object (if it is moving) and hold the camera very steady. If there is too much light consider exposure compensation or even a neutral density filter.
And most important, keep practicing.
Good luck,
Ander
Born to tri.
 
TZ
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 9:21 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:12 am

When it's bright and sunny, it's tough to get a long enough exposure to get a full prop rotation. This required 1/30th at f25, which is as far as the lens would go. If it were any brighter I'd have been stuck.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © TZ Aviation


The only thing to try once you've run out of f-stop is to add a neutral-density filter or two. That creates a cool effect... you can wind up with a 1/3sec exposure on a sunny July day!

Tamsin
TZ Aviation - Aeropuerto de los Banditos Team Images
 
INNflight
Posts: 3526
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:48 am

As said before... a long shutter speed, like 1/80 and below is required for full spins.

The best thing you can do is to practise, and also make sure your sensor is clean... at high f-stops really ALL your dustspots will become visible!  knockout 

As written in the comment field, this one was taken with 1/50 to get the full spin.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Florian Trojer - TCAS

Jet Visuals
 
dc10tim
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:21 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:00 am

Wow!

Some of those shots are excellent. I must confess, I've never had a shot with the full rotation of the propellers like that.

Generally though, in good light I have found it necessary to drop below 1/200 to create the impression of some blur, or else the propellers appear frozen.

Regards,

Tim.
Obviously missing something....
 
waketurbulence
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 12:33 pm

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:00 pm

Thanks for all the help guys! I am worried that with my current camera, an Olympus C-765, I might not be able to get a high enough f-number. I think my lens only goes up to f/8 or f/9, and you guys are talking about f/14 and f/22. I guess I will have to practice some more, hopefully it works out. Thanks again.
-Matt
 
dc10tim
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:21 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:41 pm

Matt,

f9 will be fine. I used to shoot with an Olympus C750. You also have the ability to drop down to ISO 50, which will enable you to further reduce the shutter speed.

Tim.

EDIT: I've just had a look at the C750 I used to have. My mother has it now. It looks as though the smallest aperture is f8, but you still shouldn't have any problems.

[Edited 2005-04-03 11:48:04]
Obviously missing something....
 
JAT74L
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 5:37 pm

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:45 pm

I got full spin at 160th...


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © John Thompson



Regards

John
I like trains just as much as planes but trains don't like the Atlantic!
 
IL76
Posts: 2237
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 5:43 am

RE: How To Get Prop Arc?

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:48 pm

Whenever a I see a prop approach, I switch from Av to Tv-menu, set at 1/125s. Unless it's a very rare aircraft and I can't afford to &%$-up.  Smile

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Eduard Brantjes
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Eduard Brantjes


Cheers,
Eduard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests