tom3
Posts: 239
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 5:21 am

Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:28 am

Hello

Can somebody help me , because a friend of me has a problem with his 350D , when he shoot , the error 99 appear on the camera display !
The problem is still there , also when he turns off and on the Cam ,the error appear after one shot !!

Thanks in advance

Best regards

Tom - Lap
Tom Mousel - Lap
 
ryangooner
Posts: 956
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:56 am

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:52 am

I got this last year every now and then on my 10D, i would take batt out and card out, turn on/off etc...

It got worse progressively untill i could only manage 1 shot at a time if i was lucky.

sent off to canon for repair and they said that the shutter had gone, £250 to repair if memory serves me correct.

Ryan
ooh to ooh to be ooh to be a gooner!
 
Gary2880
Posts: 1856
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:52 pm

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:11 am

knackerd shutter on a 350D? ouch...
Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel :- Samuel Johnson
 
Staffan
Posts: 3879
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:21 am

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:12 am

Cleaning the contacts on the lens with a rubber eraser apparently helps in some cases.

Staffan
 
Staffan
Posts: 3879
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:21 am

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:15 am

Error 99 is the generic error message when none of the other predicted error messages apply. So it can be anything, but the most common fault seems to be dirty contacts.

Staffan
 
tom3
Posts: 239
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 5:21 am

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:45 am

No , it can't be that the contacts are dirty or anything else, we've tried without lens , and the same problem , so it's very strange , this problem with the error!!!!!

Cheers

Tom - Lap
Tom Mousel - Lap
 
Staffan
Posts: 3879
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:21 am

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 6:22 am

With such a new camera I'd return it to Canon and let them sort it out.

Staffan
 
JAT74L
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 5:37 pm

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:14 am

It's not just the lens contacts. I had a problem with my 20D and traced it to the MEMORY CARD DOOR. A quick blast with air in the general area and it's been fine ever since.

Regards

John
I like trains just as much as planes but trains don't like the Atlantic!
 
QANTAS077
Posts: 5176
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:08 pm

RE: Error 99

Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:08 am

had that problem with the old 300D and D60, was the shutter on both occasions! Error99 more often then not is the shutter. you got the warranty so take it to the dealer if its under 30days old and ask for a new one, if its over take it to canon yourself and get them to fix it fast! it won't cost you...
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Wed May 04, 2005 9:14 pm

Got Error 99 with my EOS300D, but only with one lens. 2 other lenses work fine.

Working lenses
Canon EF 35-80mm (obviously, perhaps)
Tokina ATX 400mm

Not working
Sigma AF-APO 75-300mm
AF works OK, but when the shutter pressed the error occurs. It's as if it can't set the aperture or something. The shutter doesn't sound the same as with the other lenses.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Error 99

Wed May 04, 2005 9:28 pm

Quoting Oly720man (Reply 9):
Not working
Sigma AF-APO 75-300mm

Andrew beat me to it, I have also heard of the error ocuring with Sigma lenses. When buying Sigma try to get the digital range 'DG' as these have been made to suite the digital bodies.

Fergul Big grin
Zambian Airways, Where the Eagles fly free!!
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Wed May 04, 2005 9:45 pm

Fergul

Having messed a bit further, the Sigma does work..... but only with some camera settings (P, Auto, Portrait, Fast) and with some of those only with a reduced zoom range. E.g. with P mode, it E99's at zooms less than around 110mm. With fast mode it works over the whole zoom range. Odd one.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
draigonair
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2000 8:37 pm

RE: Error 99

Wed May 04, 2005 11:39 pm

I've had an ERRRO 99 before with my 300D and EF70-300mmUSMIII, but think it was due to to much light...happended only couple times...since then no problems (have different lens now, never happend...knock knock under the table  Smile )

cheers
Nick
cheers
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Wed May 04, 2005 11:43 pm

To continue the Sigma saga..... I have read elsewhere

http://livingroom.org.au/photolog/re...n/canon_digital_rebel_eos_300d.php

Quoting.....
"This is a problem that is not a mystery. Sigma does not pay for the license to make EF lenses. Because of this, Sigma must reverse engineer its products. Sudden surprise compatibility problems are the result. Frankly, Canon does not deserve the bad rap it gets on the problem. Sigma created the problem, not Canon. Consumers foolish enough to buy Sigma junk deserve what they get."

So there!

I've emailed Sigma about the compatibility issue and await a response.

Allegedly the lenses can be rechipped to bring them up to standard.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Thu May 05, 2005 7:05 pm

This is what I've had back from Sigma with regard to compatibility.

--------------------------------
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your email.

The lens you mentioned is not compatible with the new Canon bodies.
Unfortunately we are unable to upgrade this lens due to no spares availble.

Please contact our service dept who will be able to assist you with info on
compatible lenses and may be able to offer you an alternative. 01707 329999.

Kind regards
Sami Colvin
Sigma imaging UK

--------------------------------

So it looks like a new lens is needed....
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Thu May 05, 2005 7:18 pm

And in response to a rechipping enquiry.....

"we cannot acquire this circuit any longer"
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Error 99

Thu May 05, 2005 8:01 pm

Quote:

Quoting.....
"This is a problem that is not a mystery. Sigma does not pay for the license to make EF lenses. Because of this, Sigma must reverse engineer its products. Sudden surprise compatibility problems are the result. Frankly, Canon does not deserve the bad rap it gets on the problem. Sigma created the problem, not Canon. Consumers foolish enough to buy Sigma junk deserve what they get."

"Consumers foolish enough to buy Sigma junk deserve what they get."

Yeah, like we can all afford L lenses. I have just recently broken the bank to get two L lenses but I just couldn't afford the 17-40 L as well so I opted for the Sigma 24-70 DG EX and personaly I think its an excellent lens.

One day I'll get the 17-40 L  bouncy 

Fergul Big grin

It's gonna take me months to clear that credit card, oh well soup and bread will have to do for a while. Big grin
Zambian Airways, Where the Eagles fly free!!
 
oly720man
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:13 am

RE: Error 99

Thu May 05, 2005 8:09 pm

Quoting Fergulmcc (Reply 16):
oh well soup and bread will have to do for a while

Soup >>>and<<< bread?

My credit cards are hiding. They need a rest, or a lottery win.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Error 99

Thu May 05, 2005 8:28 pm

Quoting Oly720man (Reply 17):
Soup >>>and<<< bread?

My credit cards are hiding. They need a rest, or a lottery win.

I know, bread as well, shear luxury mate! I don't skimp on things you know. But at least I have my L lenses, that will satisfy any hunger  rotfl  I remember walking into B&H and I could feel the pain in my wallet before I pulled it out. Oh the wonders of the Lotto, oh to be a winner, get real Fergul!

Fergul Big grin
Zambian Airways, Where the Eagles fly free!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests