A346Dude
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:23 am

Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 1:24 pm

Hi all,

I keep having problems with borders when I edit my photos. I am using Photoshop LE 5.0. I cannot seem to edit this photo without getting a small thin line along the bottom, but it is not visible until I upload it:

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/C-FHRA_042505_Wywrot3.JPG

Does anyone have any ideas what I should try? I am nearly certain it doesn't have to do with feathering and the crop/resize (all one step) is the final thing I do before I save an image.

Thanks for the help.

Dustin
You know the gear is up and locked when it takes full throttle to taxi to the terminal.
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 1:42 pm

Quoting A346Dude (Thread starter):
crop/resize (all one step) is the final thing I do before I save an image.

Not sure if this is the problem, but cropping and resizing should be done towards the beginning, with sharpening usually done last of all.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
C133
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:34 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 2:04 pm

Quoting Newark777 (Reply 1):

Not sure if this is the problem, but cropping and resizing should be done towards the beginning, with sharpening usually done last of all.

Second that. I'm no expert, but I level 1st, and crop/resize (with the crop tool) 2nd. Then go through image corrections etc., with sharpening the final step before saving. I just looked in CS and don't see any feathering option on the crop tool, but maybe it's there someplace. And why would that thin line only show up on the bottom? Good luck fixing it........

Terry
Fine: Tax for doing wrong. Tax: Fine for doing well.
 
draigonair
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2000 8:37 pm

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 2:04 pm

Dustin,

the problem probably is the you are not using the correct tool. When you get your photo fir adjust the angle etc. Then use the CROP tool. Then resize it and make final adjustments (light sharpness etc) and then save. This should not leave any borders behind!

goodluck

Nick
cheers
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 2:10 pm

Quoting C133 (Reply 2):
And why would that thin line only show up on the bottom?

I'm guessing that the border is on all sides, but is only visible on the bottom because of the black a.net bar.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
C133
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:34 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 2:29 pm

Quoting Newark777 (Reply 4):
I'm guessing that the border is on all sides, but is only visible on the bottom because of the black a.net bar.

Harry

Yes, probably so.

Quoting DRAIGONAIR (Reply 3):
Then use the CROP tool. Then resize it and

I've seen that some guys prefer to resize as a separate step, but I enter my desired size in the crop tool Height & Width boxes and do it in one step. Without problem, as far as I know.

Terry
Fine: Tax for doing wrong. Tax: Fine for doing well.
 
A346Dude
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:23 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 2:40 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions guys.

Here's the thing though. I have had this problem before and someone suggested that I crop the photo at the end because sharpening the photo may cause a border to appear. In any case, cropping as the first step probably wouldn't suppress the borders as they would just appear in the photo earlier rather than later.
You know the gear is up and locked when it takes full throttle to taxi to the terminal.
 
C133
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:34 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 3:01 pm

But why are they there? The 'line', or 'border' is being introduced somehow. Experiment with different methods of cropping and resizing to see if you can eliminate it. I dunno........

Edit: And, sharpening should not be the culprit here. Doesn't make sense, to me.

[Edited 2005-05-01 08:04:00]
2nd Edit: OK, skip sharpening and see if it happens. That's easy.

[Edited 2005-05-01 08:07:58]
Fine: Tax for doing wrong. Tax: Fine for doing well.
 
draigonair
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2000 8:37 pm

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 3:39 pm

Yes is indeed wierd..

i once had them but i didnt use the crop tool...using the crop tool in the beginning solved the problem!

goodluck

Nick
cheers
 
Psych
Posts: 2944
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:17 am

RE: Borders Help

Sun May 01, 2005 4:23 pm

Dustin,

Just to add to the debate, my understanding is that these borders are usually to do with the tool that it used to crop, and there being some feathering going on, as was suggested above - e.g. using a marquee tool with the feathering at anything other than zero. You shouldn't get this effect with the crop tool itself.

I would also concur with the others above that you should do your editing on your resized image - i.e. cropping/resizing should be in the first few steps of your editing workflow. Though this is less crucial for things like brightness and colour adjustment, sharpening different sized images using the same sharpening settings will produce different results. For example, getting your photo just right in terms of sharpening and then reducing the size of it will have the effect of exaggerating the sharpness (as you now have less pixels that make the photo) and so you are more likely to get jaggies.

Apologies if I am preaching to the converted here, but I think this factor does make a difference to the final quality of the image.

All the best.

Paul
 
A346Dude
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:23 am

RE: Borders Help

Mon May 02, 2005 1:11 am

Thanks again everyone.

I will have to play around a little more with Photoshop, keeping in mind what has been pointed out here. If I can't figure it out I may just switch to another photo editing program.
You know the gear is up and locked when it takes full throttle to taxi to the terminal.
 
apjung
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 3:20 pm

RE: Borders Help

Fri May 06, 2005 7:50 am

I also have similar problems and I am also using PS 5.0 LE.
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-WN-B737_N770SA_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-US-A319_N739US_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-UA-A319_N842UA_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...e=MSY-WN-B737_N401WN_enhanced1.JPG

I've cropped all of my pictures in the same exact way ever since I uploaded my first photo in 2002. It appears that they have escaped the "badborder" screener.
http://www.airliners.net/search/phot...dy%20P.%20Jung&distinct_entry=true

It seems that uploading standards have increased in the past few months.


I also can't figure out why some of my rejected photos where the aircraft isn't considered correctly centered.
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-DL-MD90_N911DA_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-UA-A320_N485UA_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-DL-B752_N642DL_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-YX-B717_N922ME_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-FX-A306_N658FE_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-NW-A320_N374NW_enhanced.JPG (do I need to crop more of the bottom and restore the top to center the plane?)
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-CO-B752_N48127_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-F9-A319_N919FR_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...ame=MSY-CO-733_N17356_enhanced.JPG
http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...me=MSY-WN-B737_N784SW_enhanced.JPG (do I need to crop more of the bottom and restore the top to center the plane?)


Any suggestions?
Andy P. Jung

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elmdon and 22 guests