APFPilot1985
Topic Author
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:51 pm

Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 4:17 am

My new 20D has tons of factory dust on the sensor. What is the best way to clean it. A brushless blower doesnt seem to be doing it. How do you guys feel about canned air? Also what should I use for cleaning the lenses so i dont have to worry about stripping the coating?
Stand Up and Be Counted Visit Site Related to Voice your opinion
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 5:14 am

Try this, worked for me!

http://www.pbase.com/copperhill/ccd_cleaning

Take care

Fergul Big grin
Zambian Airways, Where the Eagles fly free!!
 
Ander
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:14 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 5:50 am

Hi Reid,
The same happened to me when I bought my 20D.
Seems like it happened to everyone who bought it.
I use a Giotos rocket blower. It works ok momentarily, but I also
have the feeling that all I do is blow the dust from one place to another,
within the sensor of course.  mad 

When the thing gets serious I use the Eclipse swabs with fluid.
Well, to be honest, I've only done it twice, with good result. However,
I am not very eager to do it.

The last thing is to clone out the spots with PS.

Good luck,

Ander
Born to tri.
 
APFPilot1985
Topic Author
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:51 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 6:21 am

I guess that for the time being i am just going to go with cloaning the spots out.
Cheers
Reid
Stand Up and Be Counted Visit Site Related to Voice your opinion
 
JAT74L
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 5:37 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 7:34 am

The results of my sensor swabbing were mediocre.

Next time I'm going for the blow job.

John
I like trains just as much as planes but trains don't like the Atlantic!
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 7:52 am

Quoting JAT74L (Reply 4):
Next time I'm going for the blow job.

Aren't we all.

Cleaning your sensor is one of those things that should be so simple, but, rather like one of those airfix kits, can somehow end up being really quite frustrating.

It doesn't seem to matter how thorough or careful you are with your gear, that damn dust gets in!

James
It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
sean377
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2001 1:18 am

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 4:20 pm

I've got the same problem (not that I'd noticed until Ferguls workflow helped point them out). I bought a blower... that only moves the big specks you can see with the naked eye. I enquired a my local camera clinic... dust is a common problem with DSLR's (apparently, the sensors secondary job is 'dust magnet'). They can clean it, but it'll cost £40 and takes 2 days (no swabbing for them, they actually remove the sensor and give it a good scrub). I passed on that and told them I'd bring it back when it had a bit more dust on it!

So I guess it's back to Ferguls workflow and cloning...

Sean
Flying is the second greatest thrill known to man... Landing is the first!
 
ltena
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:51 am

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 4:49 pm

Take it to canon, I heard that here in mexico those kind of maintainance its free.

Regards
Luis Tena Orozco.
Luis Tena Orozco. Why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly
 
Gary2880
Posts: 1856
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:52 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 6:43 pm

Quoting Ltena (Reply 7):
Take it to canon, I heard that here in mexico those kind of maintainance its free.

Regards
Luis Tena Orozco.

cool, but how much would it cost for me to get a return ticket from aberdeen to mexico :P con might outweigh the pro's
Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel :- Samuel Johnson
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 6:52 pm

Why is everybody so afraid to clean the sensor ?
It is something I do every week or at least before every shoot and have done so for years.
The sensor is quite tough and cleaning it will not lead to any problem as long as you are a bit careful.

Willem
The truth lives in one’s mind, it doesn’t really exist
 
sean377
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2001 1:18 am

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 6:59 pm

Quoting Aviopic (Reply 9):
Why is everybody so afraid to clean the sensor ?
It is something I do every week or at least before every shoot and have done so for years.
The sensor is quite tough and cleaning it will not lead to any problem as long as you are a bit careful.

Willem

What do you use Willem?
Flying is the second greatest thrill known to man... Landing is the first!
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sat May 14, 2005 8:04 pm

Quoting Sean377 (Reply 10):
What do you use Willem?

First a blow then a swap with fluid.
Make sure you don't start scrubbing with a dry swap infect don't start scrubbing at all just go from R to L or from L to R what ever you want but not back and forth.
The fluid will evaporate very quickly.

Willem
The truth lives in one’s mind, it doesn’t really exist
 
bjcc
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:29 am

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sun May 15, 2005 3:39 am

I have cleaned mine using sensor swabs from (in the UK) Warehouse express. Cost was less than £30 for 10 swabs and a bottle of cleaning fluid.

I have used one swab twice, and of the 2 attempts to clean it, the first was not over successful. The second however, has done the job!

It took 2 months of fairly hard use to get noticable dust on the sensor, so I figure the investment will last 18 months to 2 years, well worth the money!

Bernie
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1877
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sun May 15, 2005 5:43 am

Quoting Aviopic (Reply 9):
Why is everybody so afraid to clean the sensor ?

I have to agree with Willem, it's not that a big deal. I have carried out another sensor clean and you really are just cleaning a piece of glass. I'm now left with just one small spot and I guess I can live with that. The actual sensor is behind it. I treat it like a surgical operartion. I use surgical gloves when handling the pec pads and then wrap the swipe, out a few drops on the end and then swipe clean. Most times you will get it spotless. Aslo don't decide to clean the sensor while the wife is hoovering etc. Make sure the room hasn't been disturbed, i.e. window closed, and then clean. If you follow the guide on the link I posted above you shouldn't have any problems.

Quoting Sean377 (Reply 6):
I've got the same problem (not that I'd noticed until Ferguls workflow helped point them out).

WOW, great to see that my process is doing the rounds.

Just remember, when you are spending more time cloning out the spots than on the actual processing of your photo, then you need to clean the sensor.

Take care

Fergul Big grin  sun 
Zambian Airways, Where the Eagles fly free!!
 
GPHOTO
Posts: 799
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 11:44 pm

RE: Cleaning The Cmos Sensor

Sun May 15, 2005 6:02 am

Quoting Fergulmcc (Reply 13):
Make sure the room hasn't been disturbed, i.e. window closed,

That's a good point. I'm sure we have all seen just how much dust is in the air on those occasions when a shaft of sunlight comes in through the window and lights it up. And to think you're breathing that in all the time.......

Best regards,

Jim
Erm, is this thing on?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests