CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:48 am

Just got this one rejected for badquality.
I can't see it. Worth appealing?
http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/rejections/big/VH-VOIGoranTaxi.jpg
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
DLKAPA
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:51 am

Shot looks just a touch oversharpened. I'd re-edit it and maybe lay off on the USM by about 25-50%.
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
work4bmi
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 9:51 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:55 am

Yep. the rear of the aircraft, that area seems very grainy of an otherwise ok shot.
Fly Around The World : Above & Beyond
 
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:58 am

I'd get rid of the CA on the starboard wingtip and the halos around the gear in addition to the above mentioned suggestions.
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:59 am

*sigh*
Ok
 banghead 
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
senorcarnival
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:05 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:01 am

I see a very slight "jaggieness" on the tail and plenty of noise around the rear tires (could be my crappy Dell LCD.) Pretty crisp otherwise.
Oh no, she's getting impatient! Take a stab at it!
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:03 am

The noise behind the rear tyres is the exhaust fumes coming out of the engine.
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
Fly747
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:03 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:07 am

Hi Goran,

it also seems as if you sharpened the whole image. Try sharpening just the airplane. Also the hot fumes look much better unsharpened.

Ivan
 
senorcarnival
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:05 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:11 am

Quoting CallMeCapt (Reply 6):
The noise behind the rear tyres is the exhaust fumes coming out of the engine.

I was referring to the inside set of tires, under the "M3 Power" logo.
Oh no, she's getting impatient! Take a stab at it!
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:11 am

Thanks people.
I'll rework it and see what i come up with.

SC..I see where you're at now. Damn, I missed that one.

[Edited 2005-06-02 00:13:47]
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
DLKAPA
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:27 am

Quoting Fly747 (Reply 7):
it also seems as if you sharpened the whole image. Try sharpening just the airplane. Also the hot fumes look much better unsharpened.

Here is a common misconception about Photoshop. The way Unsharp Mask works, is that it finds the edges and then adjusts the contrast on either side of that edge, by brightening up the lighter side and darkening the darker side. In Photoshop's Unsharp Mask, there is a function called "Threshold." This function effectively tells photoshop what is an edge and what isn't. By raising the threshold, it will take more contrast between pixels to begin with to sharpen those pixels, and by lowering it, it will take less contrast between pixels at the start to sharpen those pixels. If you have a sky that is relatively noise-free and you set the threshold to about 3 or so levels, you don't have to select only the aircraft, you'd just be wasting your time.
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
Fly747
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:03 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:30 am

Eric,

thanks for the explanation, I was under a different impression but I stand corrected.
Edit: So what if you use 0 for threshold, then you are sharpening the whole image?

Ivan

[Edited 2005-06-02 00:49:12]
 
ua777222
Posts: 2987
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 11:23 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:53 am

If you cold, crop less on the left. It almost looks as though you've cut off a wee bit of the winglet.

Thanks,

Matt
"It wasn't raining when Noah built the ark."
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:48 am

I was thinking of cropping out the whole winglet.
Had reservations about keeping it in the shot as it is.
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
dendrobatid
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:40 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:10 pm

Quoting Fly747 (Reply 11):
thanks for the explanation, I was under a different impression but I stand corrected.
Edit: So what if you use 0 for threshold, then you are sharpening the whole image?

Ivan
Most people seem to leave the threshold at 0 all of the time and I wonder why Adobe included it at all if it wasn't to be used. Every pixel, including noise, becomes a candidate for sharpening if you leave it at 0. I leave it at 1 for digital and 6 for scanning from slides.
If you can avoid sharpening the sky at all by using the magic wand, that is the best option though.
Mick Bajcar
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:45 pm

Hi all

The threshold setting work well for non aviation stuff.

Goran, follow my guidelines (think I gave you them) for processing and all should be well. Crop out the winglet. Don't use the magic wand in the sky but try to sharpen the image as a whole.

Regards

Gary
 
sulman
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:09 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:08 pm

A method I use for sharpening now:

1) Create a duplicate layer.

2) Draw around the object you want to sharpen using the lasoo tool. You don't have to be particularly neat.

3) Press the 'quickmask' button on toolbar. This creates a salmon-pink area around your selection.

4) Use a brush tool to 'paint in' more of the selection, or switch to 'background colour' (small square above big square on toolbar) to subtract from selection.

5) Press quickmask button and your new selection will be shown. Sharpen as desired.

6) Use eraser tool to subtract sharpening from sensitive areas.

I may illustrate this technique later, using MSpaint.

Cheerrs

James
It takes a big man to admit they are wrong, and I am not a big man.
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:52 pm

That photo was a bit of a problem for me to begin with and thought I could make good on it. Aperture only goes to F8 so I had some blurring in the background. So, I did selective sharpening. Might need a bit more practise, I think.
Gary, I tried sharpening the whole image but I was getting noticeable grain in the sky.
Ocassionally, I neat image the crap out of the sky if it goes too grainy. Getting a new camera very soon though. My new 300D arrives in 5 days. FujiFilm S7000 is ok and it has gotten me a couple of photos in the DB but I have no doubt picture quality will drastically improve with the 300D.
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
vir380
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:45 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:08 pm

Plus im not sure whether im right but it looks to have some cloning around the image...

between the 2 centre wheels ?

i do apologise if im wrong ... but it does look like it
also a little on the tarmac strip inder the left hand winglet ?


but on the whole ... yes a little over sharp

regards
Moved away from this lost website to better things !
 
CallMeCapt
Topic Author
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:21 pm

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:44 pm

No problem. To answer the question about cloning, there is no cloning in the image. I saw that spot as well and I think it's just blurred from the starboard engine exhaust.
Without struggle, there is no progress. (Frederick Douglass)
 
vir380
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:45 am

RE: Bad Quality...where?

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:55 pm

Quoting CallMeCapt (Reply 19):
No problem. To answer the question about cloning, there is no cloning in the image. I saw that spot as well and I think it's just blurred from the starboard engine exhaust

Thats fine i accept that  Smile


i really do like the image .... great scheme , reduce the sharness a touch and its a winner in my opinion

regards
Moved away from this lost website to better things !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests