Jonas
Topic Author

Should I Have Charged For This Use?

Wed Jun 22, 2005 12:32 pm

Hello everyone,

First post here. Yay.  Smile

Some time ago, an instructor from X Airlines (not relevant...) asked me the permission to use one of my photo for a powerpoint presentation for in-house use only. I agreed to let him use the photo for free. Is this a case for which I should have asked money?

Personally I think it's OK to let it go free for a in-house use. But if it is acceptable to charge a fee, I might as well do that the next time (if it happens...). We can always use the extra income right?  Smile

If that is the case, how much is considered acceptable? I'm really new to this and I have really no clue.

Also, is there anything I should do to protect myself so they do not use this photo for something else without asking me first?

Thanks for your advice!

Jonathan

N317AS

RE: Should I Have Charged For This Use?

Wed Jun 22, 2005 12:46 pm

For in house use I don't bother, But I also send an invoice stating the use and to contact me for non in house use (not worded that way). That way you have something to fall back on.

BTW, I don't consider the glossy End of the Year reports as in-house.

[Edited 2005-06-22 05:48:51]
Some people are like Slinkies. They bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Jonas
Topic Author

Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:23 pm

Thanks for the advice. That's pretty much what I thought.

ake0404ar

Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:31 pm

Guys,

I know especially newbies get excited once the start selling the first pictures or getting an e-mail where someone wants to use your picture.

Think about it: these corporations may they be big or small have enough money to compensate you for your work. Monetary compensation or a simple merchandise article would do it.

We had this discussions so many times:

By giving out your work for free you are making it harder for those of us who are depending on photo sales etc.