linco22
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:27 am

Hey all,

Hope everyone is well this Friday! Just looking some advice on exposure. I'm finding that the majority of my photos have incorrect exposure. I dont really tamper with the expsosure setting on my 350D. When I'm shooting in good sunlight(like the picture below), I have my camera on Av, in and arounf f9 or there abouts depending on conditions. I have this photo in the que at the moment and was hopin if someone could tell if this is indeed over exposed? My kit is Canon 350D, and a 100-300mm f4.5-5.6 USM lens. EXIF is below

Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT
Shooting Date/Time
11/09/2005 12:23:51
Shooting Mode
Aperture-Priority AE
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/250
Av( Aperture Value )
10.0
Metering Mode
Evaluative Metering
Exposure Compensation
-1/3
ISO Speed
100
Lens
100.0 - 300.0mm
Focal Length
230.0mm

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/gmidkatbhd11905_03.jpg

Not sure how to post it straight onto the forum just yet.......

Thanks in advance
Colin
 
Fly747
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:03 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:44 am

Hi Colin,

the plane itself is not overexposed, I would say oversharpened. However the building in the back is blown out and draws eyes away from the subject. You should have masked the building when adjusting your levels. Just my .

Ivan

(Edit typo)

[Edited 2005-09-16 21:45:05]
 
User avatar
jumbojim747
Posts: 2426
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:05 pm

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:40 am

Quoting Linco22 (Thread starter):
Av( Aperture Value )
10.0
Metering Mode
Evaluative Metering

Why shooting at f10.
Go to f8 and see how you go .
Matrix meetering i find best on the canons.
Cheers
On a wing and a prayer
 
ChrisH
Posts: 1120
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:43 am

I think the exposure meter might be broken, you've even compensated down 1/3 and its still overexposed. Could you post the original?

shooting at f10 or f8 should make no difference as the camera should adjust exposure for it anyway.
what seems to be the officer, problem?
 
G-CIVP
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 6:38 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:19 am

Alternatively use tv and compensate down.

I doubt the exposure meter is done for. If you suspect it is, take a non aviaition image, normal daylight and see how it's coming out. This should give you some idea.
 
flyfisher1976
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:08 pm

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:09 am

Quoting ChrisH (Reply 3):
I think the exposure meter might be broken, you've even compensated down 1/3 and its still overexposed.

Probably not the case. This thread should answer all of your questions about failure of the in-camera metering system...

What Metering Mode Do You Use? (by Flyfisher1976 Sep 4 2005 in Aviation Photography)

-JD
 
aerlingus330
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:21 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:57 am

Hey Colin,
I knew that I recognized that factory/background somewhere before...Belfast City Airport (BHD) Right?
If so, did you take the Picture on the footbridge or in the old airport car parking lot?

AerLingus330
Aer Lingus Airbus A330-300
 
ChrisH
Posts: 1120
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 5:27 pm

Quoting Flyfisher1976 (Reply 5):
Probably not the case. This thread should answer all of your questions about failure of the in-camera metering system...

You mean the thread I posted in 3 times? And it has nothing to do with failing light meters. lol

I would still like to see the original file, perhaps he used autolevels or similar, cause if it came out that way from the camera, and it's not broken, then Canons are worse than I thought  Wink
what seems to be the officer, problem?
 
linco22
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:13 pm

Quoting Aerlingus330 (Reply 6):

Yip thats exactly where I took it from.

To ChrisH

Sorry Chris, I did notch it down myself -1/3, my mistake! I remember shooting that day and I think I only fiddled with it on that occassion. Thanks for the advice guys, just need to wait for the rejection......

Colin
 
dc10tim
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:21 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:18 pm

Hi Colin,

I find that livery is an absolute sod to photo. Very difficult to get the colours looking anything like correct. I think that they are OK in your shot by and large, but the top of the aircraft is a little light and also the leading edge of the wings and around the engines hints at slight overexposure. The factory in the background is way overexposed, which is another indicator of the shot being overexposed generally. Due to the metering (I'm assuming it's the same on the 350D to my 300D), the effect you would normally expect in a situation like that is for the factory to be exposed more correctly and the plane to look a bit dark.

I'm surprised that using some exposure compensation didn't appear to make much difference though. I often have to compensate by -1/3 in strong light and in poor light my Canon is terrible. It way underexposes. My dad's Minolta Dynax 5 is a thousand times better at metering. With the Canon it's a bit of a guessing game at times.

Tim.
Obviously missing something....
 
linco22
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:01 pm

Tim,

Yeah that old BMI livery is a pain in the backside most of the time! 75% of BMI movements at BHD are with the A321 so chances of gettin the new livery is sometimes slim. I'm not even sure what my metering is set to I must check. I guess it'll be another one for the personal collection

Colin
 
flyfisher1976
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:08 pm

RE: Exposure Problems

Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:23 pm

Quoting ChrisH (Reply 7):
You mean the thread I posted in 3 times? And it has nothing to do with failing light meters.

It doesn't?! Maybe you should read the thread again. It clearly discusses the failure and shortcomings of Canon's in-camera metering system and metering system alternatives.

Quoting ChrisH (Reply 7):
if it came out that way from the camera, and it's not broken, then Canons are worse than I thought

Do ya think?! I could have told you this after the first post.

I have been plagued by metering errors with my 300D.

Linco22, again, please check out this thread...
What Metering Mode Do You Use? (by Flyfisher1976 Sep 4 2005 in Aviation Photography)

Your exposure problems are probably not any fault of your own. You probably should think about investing in a incident meter and/or gray card to assist with proper metering. I am getting a 350D in a couple weeks. I am not going to make the same mistake that I made with my 300D (trusting the in-camera metering). I am getting an incident meter.

-JD
 
dc10tim
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:21 am

RE: Exposure Problems

Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:29 am

It's interesting that this seems to be a problem with all Canons and not just the 300D. You'd have thought that it would have been improved on the 350D and 20D.
Obviously missing something....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rpd14 and 4 guests