APFPilot1985
Topic Author
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:51 pm

Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:07 am

Just finally got my copy today and all I can say is wow! I am running a dual 2.7 G5 setup with 1.5 GB of ram and it runs at lightening speed. No hanging up and it improves the RAW workflow unbelievably. I am very happy with the purchase and can't wait to get out to the airport to spend a day shooting in RAW.
Stand Up and Be Counted Visit Site Related to Voice your opinion
 
User avatar
clickhappy
Posts: 9042
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 12:10 pm

RE: Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:57 am

I would hope that any program would run quickly on a dual-processor system with 1.5 gigs of RAM!
 
User avatar
Kereru
Posts: 596
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:19 am

RE: Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:16 am

Its minimum requirements to run it mean only those with near new and top end machines will be able to use it.

http://www.apple.com/aperture/specs.html

It does look good on the demos but will have to wait till I upgrade my G4.

Have fun and keep us posted on your experience.

Cheers,
Colin
Good things take Time.
 
APFPilot1985
Topic Author
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:51 pm

RE: Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:42 am

Quoting Clickhappy (Reply 1):
I would hope that any program would run quickly on a dual-processor system with 1.5 gigs of RAM!

makes up for my small..........
lens.

Yeah your right, but the program is bugless so far
Stand Up and Be Counted Visit Site Related to Voice your opinion
 
APFPilot1985
Topic Author
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:51 pm

RE: Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:36 am

Alright, some more observations, the leveling feature is cool, but will take some getting used to, this program is defo not a replacement for Photoshop, but then again was never intended to be one. The sorting stuff is great though because generally I will take a ton of photos of one a/c and then edit and upload only the best. This software allows you to put them together side by side and compare them with a digital loupe.
Stand Up and Be Counted Visit Site Related to Voice your opinion
 
chris78cpr
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 7:44 am

RE: Apple Aperture

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:41 am

Quoting Kereru (Reply 2):
Its minimum requirements to run it mean only those with near new and top end machines will be able to use it.

Runs extremely speedy on my Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz with 2GB of ram! Big grin

Havn't used it too much yet, i got Creative Suite 2 Premium delivered the same day so have been playing with that. apperture does look good tho. I think for a proper trial i will wait until my 23" screen arrives! Then i can have a good play! Big grin

Chris
5D2/7D/1D2(soon to be a 1Dx) 17-40L/24-105L/70-200F2.8L/100-400L/24F1.4LII/50F1.2L/85F1.2LII

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests