manc
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:33 am

Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:14 pm

Got these in the queue but I am worried about getting the sharpness correct. I have done one pass of USM 500,0.2.0 on all of them, then 100,0.2.0.

My problem is I haven't got the experience of identifying or erasing jaggies. So on these photos could you please highlight if there are any jaggies so I can see on my own pics what to look for. Then if theres are good tips on the eraser tool that would be great, I seem to paint the aircraft white when I use this tool  Wink

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/A6EAG_200106_LHR.jpg
http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/OELDA_200106_LHR.jpg
http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/DACLG_200106_LHRA.jpg
No URL in signature please
 
linco22
Posts: 1279
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:23 pm

Hi Ian,

They all seem pretty much there to me though i'm still getting used to my new Ultrasharp monitor. The EK and the LH seem a little oversharpened. You might be able to correct this by increasing your threshold a bit or adjusting the other values slightly. But i'm sure other folk on here have better expertise than me....

On the eraser tool problem. I think this happens when you do all your editing on one layer. If you edit over various layer, layer masking, you wont get this problem.

Hope this helps

Regards
Colin  Smile
 
INNflight
Posts: 3526
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:50 pm

There's a dustspot below the Austrian 319 engine.  Wink

cheers,
F.
Jet Visuals
 
Psych
Posts: 2944
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:17 am

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:56 pm

Hi Ian.

As you know, I think you need to get rid of some jaggies here - they are looking slightly oversharpenend.

As regards technique, you won't have a problem with the eraser tool if beforehand you make a copy or duplicate layer of your image. Use the menus or I simply press F7 to get the layers palette up, then CTRL+J to make a copy layer. You will see it labelled 'Layer 1' in the layers palette. If you then apply your USM to this layer you can then use the eraser brush successfully. What will happen then is that you will rub out the sharpening applied to the layer and expose the unsharpened image of the background layer behind. What has been happening for you - I assume - is that because you are not using layers, when you rub something out it just exposes the blank canvas background of Photoshop.

Also, I think it is worth setting the 'opacity' of the eraser tool (you'll find this near the middle above the photo) to less than 100%. I use about 50% and this helps you control how much of the sharpening you get rid of at any one go, and so your editing can be a bit more precise.

I hope this helps.

All the best.

Paul
 
manc
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:33 am

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:15 pm

Cheers again Colin! I'm on an LG TFT so god knows if its any good or not!!

Yeah I saw the dustspot, my sensor seems mighty dirty considering I've only changed the lens once since I bought it! I have one of those rocket blowers so I might give it a blast later...is that the best way??

Paul

Yeah I wasn't using layers for this part!! I use layers for everyone bit for some reason! I'll have a go on the EK you said the engines, is the www.emirates bits ok looks a bit wierd to me.

Where on the lufty?

Cheers again Colin!
No URL in signature please
 
manc
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:33 am

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:57 pm

i create a layer with Ctrl J then I sharpened, do I then do the eraser on the layer or the org? I cannot see the effect either way?
No URL in signature please
 
norfolkjohn
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:20 pm

RE: Help On Queue Photos...Jaggies?

Sun Jan 22, 2006 9:35 am

Ian,

Yes you need to use the eraser on the duplicate layer which you applied the sharpening to. As Paul explained this will let the softer original layer show through. Check what Opacity setting you have the eraser on. If it is zero it will have no effect. Try it at between 50% and 70% and you should see a difference. Also make sure you are viewing the image at 100% (full screen).

Hope this might help.

John
One thorn of experience is worth a whole wilderness of warning.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos