Cathay111
Topic Author
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:21 am

Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Mon May 29, 2006 8:40 pm

Evening all,

Now who hasn't had this problem before, an airport that they've taken plently of shots at which isn't in the airliners.net upload page database.

Is there anyway that we could have a "Add new airport" option so that we can simply enter the 3 or 4 character airport code and upload? And, not only will it help expedite the upload process, it will allow others to use it as well..... plus the added benefit of database standardization (to a degree!).

For example, with every photo in the following link I've had to do things the long way...... if I could type YWSG and have it auto-complete the information life would be so much easier!

http://www.airliners.net/search/phot...field%20(YWSG)&distinct_entry=true

Pretty please with rotors on top, could the powers that be here at airliners.net have a look at this suggestion when they have a chance?

Cheers from Brisbane,
Craig
 
dendrobatid
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:40 pm

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Mon May 29, 2006 8:49 pm

I do know that the database editors will add an airfield for you if you are likely to be uploading a lot of images from there.
This however seems like a good idea and it would be easier for the database editors to simply check your information as supplied before including it on the dropdown menus, rather than having to search it out.
Mick Bajcar
 
User avatar
lindy field
Posts: 2939
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 1:52 pm

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Mon May 29, 2006 9:13 pm

Hello Craig,

This is an interesting idea and I imagine it could be taken up at some point in the future. Right now there are a number of projects quietly being worked on behind the scenes and we also have a number of crew members who have gone on or are about to leave on long vacations. In the meanwhile, I've updated all the entries in the database from Watts Bridge to an appropriate airliners.net form. (Please remember that we don't include the word "airfield" or "airport" when listing an airport name. Check the location help for reference.) It's now Watts Bridge - Memorial (YWSG).

Regards,

Edward
 
Invader
Crew
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Tue May 30, 2006 6:16 am

Hi Craig,

An interesting idea, but I'm not really in favour of it. One of the reasons is that all current entries on the upload page have been checked thoroughly for correctness by comparing multiple sources. Adding unchecked entries by individual uploaders would destroy this accuracy.

Also, many uploaders do not always have the means to do all the necessary comparing or they come to different conclusions which would mean that our standardization would slowly deteriorate. And of course, bogus additions would be added by people who think they are funny, just as everywhere on the internet.

Checking the entries from the uploaders before they are added would be the same as what we do now constantly, that is checking entries for accuracy before adding them. But then we would have to work to the agenda of the uploaders instead of to our own agenda, which would be much less efficient, believe me.

For a few countries all known airfields, heliports and seaplane bases have been added to the upload list, and we plan to continue doing that. See e.g. Portugal or Canada - Quebec. That is for us the most efficient way of adding airfields. Apart from that, airfields from all over the world are added constantly, often on request of uploaders or others.

So, when you have an airfield that you would like to have listed, just send me an email and I will see what I can do. But don't always expect to have them listed immediately as I normally collect a few for efficiency reasons before I run my comparison and checking program.

By the way, as Edward said already, a few editors are away or are about to leave shortly, and I am one of them  wave 

Regards,
Peter Vercruijsse
Chief Database Editor
 
Philthy
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:13 am

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:18 pm

Quoting Invader (Reply 3):
So, when you have an airfield that you would like to have listed, just send me an email and I will see what I can do.

Thanks Peter. I enquired some time ago and was told that new aerodromes weren't added to the menu until there were more than 50 shots from that aerodrome in the database. Well, I've worn my fingers to the bone typing and re-typing the same details and got to 50 all on my own at a couple of places, and I was wondering when they were going to start appearing in the menus.

Expect an email!

Philthy
 
eadster
Posts: 2125
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:31 pm

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:35 pm

Hey Phil,

I'll be visiting Melbourne shortly to catch up with you...

Quoting Philthy (Reply 4):
menu until there were more than 50 shots from that aerodrome in the database.

I was under the same impression as you, but I noticed that an airport here in Tassie, that being Wynyard, is in the drop down list and there are not 50 shots from this airport in the DB as yet, but only 4!
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:03 pm

Quoting Invader (Reply 3):
One of the reasons is that all current entries on the upload page have been checked thoroughly for correctness by comparing multiple sources.

You mean like putting in the German airport Hanover with only 1 'n'!?  Wink
It's actually spelled with 2 'n' --> Hannover
I'm aware this is a tiny issue but some people (locals!?) would probably be glad if it could be corrected.

Hanover (- Langenhagen) (HAJ / EDDV)

Han(n)over is just one example; I'm sure there are more such misspellings.


Cheers,

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
User avatar
lindy field
Posts: 2939
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 1:52 pm

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:42 pm

Thierry,

The spelling of Hanover is no mistake because this is an English-language website.
From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanover
"Hanover is the correct English spelling, even though the German spelling is with a double n." Don't ask me why this should be the case, but it is.

As for adding new airports to the drop down menu, I'm under the impression that they are added automatically once there are fifty entries in the db; otherwise it's at the discretion of the head database editor, Peter V. That there should be some locations in the menus that have less than fifity photos in the database is a fluke that must date back to the early days of airliners.net.

Regards,

Edward
 
Philthy
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:13 am

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:12 pm

Quoting Lindy Field (Reply 7):
I'm under the impression that they are added automatically once there are fifty entries in the db

Sadly not true. Refer posts above.
 
Cathay111
Topic Author
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:21 am

RE: Adding New Airports To Upload Page - Suggestion

Sun Jun 04, 2006 8:17 am

The "50 photos" concept was one I also believed, hence my comment about Watts Bridge.

As an aside, now that it's changed from "Watts Bridge Memorial Airfield (YWSG)" to "Watts Bridge (YWSG)" the links Google finds to "Watts Bridge Memorial Airfield (YWSG)" no longer work.

Wish I hadn't said anything at all now......

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests