DLKAPA
Topic Author
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

Added A New Workflow

Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:41 am

http://www.rockymountainavphotos.com/Kyle/Workflows/Workflows.htm

Since I really don't use my basic overview as my primary workflow anymore, I've found new tricks so I added a new workflow to include those tricks. This one uses some of Jeff Miller's actions/masks, noteable changes from the basic overview include discarding the dodge and burn tools, as well as the brightness/contrast adjustment.

The workflow itself can be found here:
http://www.rockymountainavphotos.com...Workflows/edsadvancedworkflow.html

Hope this helps!
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
MONGORAT
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:28 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:07 am

Eric,

Nice workflow...one question about the sharpening or the application of "USM."
I notice every time you apply USM it is applied to a duplicate layer. Does this make a difference versus creating a duplicate layer, applying USM at say 500, .2, 0; and then another pass of USM at 150, .2, 0...ON THE SAME LAYER??

Regards,
Matt L
 
DLKAPA
Topic Author
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:51 am

Matt,

Actually it makes a big difference, this way you can easily erase away jaggies yet not lose all the sharpening you've done on a line.
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
glennstewart
Posts: 952
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:11 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:38 pm

Guys... looks great. I think I'm going to give this a shot soon to see what it's like.

Glenn
Respected users.... If my replies are useful, then by all means...
 
philhyde
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:16 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:32 pm

Quoting Mongorat (Reply 1):
I notice every time you apply USM it is applied to a duplicate layer. Does this make a difference versus creating a duplicate layer, applying USM at say 500, .2, 0; and then another pass of USM at 150, .2, 0...ON THE SAME LAYER??

As Eric mentioned, the point of the duplicate layers is so that you can erase the new sharpening back down to the previous layer. If you don't need to do the erasing, then there is no difference with or without the new layer.
Canon junkie - Aviation Nut
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:29 pm

Quoting Philhyde (Reply 4):
the point of the duplicate layers is so that you can erase the new sharpening back down to the previous layer.

Why not use a mask, and only apply sharpening in the amount you want in only the place you want? I'll never understand why someone would sharpen the whole image and then erase. That's like painting an entire care, then scraping the paint off the chrome, windows, and tires.
 
MONGORAT
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:28 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:26 pm

Quoting Philhyde (Reply 4):
As Eric mentioned, the point of the duplicate layers is so that you can erase the new sharpening back down to the previous layer. If you don't need to do the erasing, then there is no difference with or without the new layer.

And that's the answer I was looking for...I never do any erasing, I was just wondering if this method of applying USM would somehow "limit" those darn little jaggies.

Quoting JeffM (Reply 5):
Why not use a mask, and only apply sharpening in the amount you want in only the place you want? I'll never understand why someone would sharpen the whole image and then erase. That's like painting an entire care, then scraping the paint off the chrome, windows, and tires.

Gotta' try this one soon Jeff...

Matt L
 
INNflight
Posts: 3526
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sun Jun 18, 2006 1:37 am

Sometime ago it was mentioned that the use of the dodge & burn tool is not allowed for Airliners.net uploads? Can sbdy confirm this?

F.
Jet Visuals
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:18 am

Quoting INNflight (Reply 7):
Sometime ago it was mentioned that the use of the dodge & burn tool is not allowed for Airliners.net uploads?

That would be absolutely rediculous.
 
DLKAPA
Topic Author
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:14 am

Quoting JeffM (Reply 5):
Why not use a mask, and only apply sharpening in the amount you want in only the place you want? I'll never understand why someone would sharpen the whole image and then erase. That's like painting an entire care, then scraping the paint off the chrome, windows, and tires.

I actually found it easier, because the way I sharpen I'd be doing more work painting away a mask over most of the photo, rather than just erasing away only a small part of a layer.
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:48 am

Quoting DLKAPA (Reply 9):
I'd be doing more work painting away a mask over most of the photo, rather than just erasing away only a small part of a layer.

You must not understand Eric...you don't paint away a mask and then apply sharpening. You only apply sharpening or what ever other effect you want. There is no mask builiding. Here are the steps..

1. Open your image..
2. Make duplicate layer
3. Select effect and approximate amount. (sharpening, saturation, or any other..)
4. Goto Layer>Layer Mask>Hide All
5. Select a white brush to apply the effect
6. Select a black brush to remove any effect already applied.
 
DLKAPA
Topic Author
Posts: 7962
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:37 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:54 am

Quoting JeffM (Reply 10):

Ok I guess I got confused with my steps but what you've just said is exactly how I'd been doing it. Basically, I've found that I'd be painting with the white brush so much that it just takes less time to duplicate layer and erase, especially now since I've put all the sharpening/duplicating into an action, all I have to do is kill any jaggies I see and then I'm done.
And all at once the crowd begins to sing: Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same
 
philhyde
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:16 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:11 am

Quoting JeffM (Reply 5):
Why not use a mask, and only apply sharpening in the amount you want in only the place you want? I'll never understand why someone would sharpen the whole image and then erase. That's like painting an entire care, then scraping the paint off the chrome, windows, and tires.

Maybe because more of the image needs sharpening than not? I haven't shot a single image with my 10D that didn't need sharpening. Much less work to remove a little here and there.
Canon junkie - Aviation Nut
 
User avatar
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:58 am

Quoting Philhyde (Reply 12):
Maybe because more of the image needs sharpening than not? I haven't shot a single image with my 10D that didn't need sharpening.

Bummer. Nothing says you can't hit the whole image with a quick shot of USM at a low setting if you think it needs it, then use the mask. Do what you like....if less work is what your after. I prefer to sharpen only what I want, and seldom is that the entire image. It takes me less then a minute and is completely reversable as often as needed, erasing on the other hand isn't. It was just a tip on improving technique, from the emails I've received, it has helped more then it has hindered.
 
glennstewart
Posts: 952
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:11 am

RE: Added A New Workflow

Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:34 pm

Quoting INNflight (Reply 7):
Sometime ago it was mentioned that the use of the dodge & burn tool is not allowed for Airliners.net uploads? Can sbdy confirm this?

There must not be any intentional manipulation of the shot. By this, we expect the shot to be edited to a degree than correct colours, contrast, sharpness and the other usual suspects. We DO NOT accept the alteration of the image outside this scope.

You can use such tools to for example remove CCD dust spots or ever so slightly decrease the effect of jagged lines (i.e. sharpen certain areas selectively through the use of a mask or similar).

As long as there is no manipulation outside this, then everything is fine.

Glenn
Respected users.... If my replies are useful, then by all means...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cpd and 4 guests