User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Topic Author
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:18 am

Hi guys!

I recently bought a laptop and edited my first shots on it to upload to A.net.
I first calibrated the monitor with the AirMonitor recommended on the upload page. Now despite the calibration setup having been successful and my shots looking perfectly good on the laptop they got rejected now for dark:
http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/r...big/20060726_n198aaTNCM270606z.jpg
and contrast, dark:
http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/r.../big/20060726_fglzuTNCM290606z.jpg
and now that I'm on my main workstation again I see that there might be something to it, although I would only agree to contrast for the AF A340.
My main workstation has been calibrated the same way as my laptop.
Now, before I ruin any more shots while processing on the laptop, do you know of any issues (and their solutions) concerning laptop monitors and how to calibrate them correctly?

Thanks in advance!

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:32 am

Well, first of all, the first one is just plain underexposed, and all you need is a histogram to see that.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
LHRSIMON
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 5:59 am

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:41 am

I would never edit on a laptop... I will only use a 19" CRT.

I have said this before and i will say it again. There must be more rejections on A.Net due to incorrect monitors and monitor calibrations than anything else.
Canon 1D Mk III,Canon 20D+17-40 L f4.0,70-200 L IS USM f2.8,400 L USM f5.6,135 mm L f2.0, 50 mm f1.8,1.4 x II extender
 
jhribar
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 4:31 am

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:58 pm

Hi Thierry,

have you ever considered using a hardware calibration tool instead of software?

http://www.xritephoto.com/product/optixxr/

This one I use, and it is realy worth the money you invest!
We spend loads of money on Cameras, Lenses, Monitors, etc. But some small gadgets that can realy make a difference are often neglected or completely forgetten about.

I used this tool to calibrate several monitors and the results are always very good. And it only takes you 2 minutes to do so.

See this tool as a small spectrophotometer. A software projects colors in different tonal ranges on the display and the photometer measures what the actual output of the screen is. Then a color compensation profile for the monitor is generated.

As far as your pics concern:
I think the AA 757 is indeed too dark.
The AF 340 could use a little more punch. Try a different curve for the highlights in this pic

rgds,

Jeroen

[Edited 2006-07-27 07:00:46]
AirTeamImages
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Topic Author
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:05 pm

Quoting Newark777 (Reply 1):
Well, first of all, the first one is just plain underexposed, and all you need is a histogram to see that.

It may look underexposed but underexposed it ain't. On the other hand I don't wanna live by any numbers or histograms to tell me if a picture is too dark or too bright. I wanna be able to look at the picture and say "This is ok and this isn't". Works pretty well like that on my workstation and has to be possible on my laptop too!?

Quoting LHRSIMON (Reply 2):
I would never edit on a laptop... I will only use a 19" CRT.

The problem is that 19" CRTs are a little bulky to travel around with...  Yeah sure

Quoting Jhribar (Reply 3):
have you ever considered using a hardware calibration tool instead of software?

http://www.xritephoto.com/product/op...ixxr/

Thanks Jeroen for the link and the hints; I didn't know the program til now. I'll first try to resolve the issue "for free" but if it doesn't work I might come back to it.

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
Woody001
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:39 am

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:36 pm

Thierry,

Harry is correct, the image is just underexposed.
Big version: Width: 1024 Height: 749 File size: 91kb


Also it's going to be a quality rejection, probably size rejection as well.
Whats with all that sky in the image? You need to crop in a little tighter.

You cannot do a monitor calibration by eye and expect to get spot on results.
I have been using an X-rite MonacoOPTIX for a couple of years now and the results are fantastic - more shadow detail for one thing.

Best of luck,
Ian.
If I could just get the afterburner working...
 
LHRSIMON
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 5:59 am

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:40 pm

Quoting ThierryD (Reply 4):
The problem is that 19" CRTs are a little bulky to travel around with...

True , and thats why i only edit at home..... If im on the move then the editing has to wait !!!

[Edited 2006-07-27 12:50:37]
Canon 1D Mk III,Canon 20D+17-40 L f4.0,70-200 L IS USM f2.8,400 L USM f5.6,135 mm L f2.0, 50 mm f1.8,1.4 x II extender
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Topic Author
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: Monitor Calibration Program

Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:16 pm

Quoting Woody001 (Reply 5):
Also it's going to be a quality rejection, probably size rejection as well.
Whats with all that sky in the image? You need to crop in a little tighter.

Thanks for your constructive input Ian!

However as I said I'm not gonna judge my pictures by looking at histograms (I mean we're not in Formula 1 here having to go through some telemetry to win tenths of seconds for a laptime). I'm quite sure the raw picture is ok; all I need is the right way to setup my laptop monitor to be able to judge it right by only looking at it (note: I don't want to CALIBRATE the monitor by looking at it  Wink).

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests