User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 5124
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:52 am

Hi all,

I took the following shot today in a bit of nast yweather:

http://www.airliners.net/uf/view.fil...3132&filename=1156099500semT64.jpg

The hor. stab. has some major (IMHO) jaggies and also the engine pylons aren't that jaggiefree. These jaggies appeared before sharpening, about right after I resized the image.

I was thinking about uploading, but I think these jaggies are killing it. How did they get there and how can I remove them?

Many thanks,

Kas
Airliners.net Crew - Head Photo Screener
 
diezel
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:50 pm

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:07 am

Hey Kas, nice pic (and nice plane)!

The jaggies are kind of disturbing (at least to me). I don't know if you did but this picture is the ideal candidate for shooting in RAW. You then could have set the sharpening to none and work with layers to sharpen all parts of the airplane as necessary.

Roel.
Never be afraid of what you like. (Miles Davis)
 
9VSPO
Posts: 4187
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:03 pm

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:15 am

Is there any way you could post the original for people to have a look at?
 
bottie
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:53 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:23 am

I had sometimes the same problem. Try to resize in small steps:

eg: 3000 - 2750 - 2500 - 2250 - 2000 - 1750 - 1500 - 1250 - 1200


That helped for me


rgrds,


Bram
 
User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 5124
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:39 am

Quoting 9VSPO (Reply 2):
Is there any way you could post the original for people to have a look at?

I've tried to upload it, but it's 2.4M, too big for the a.net photo upload.

Quoting Bottie (Reply 3):
I had sometimes the same problem. Try to resize in small steps:

eg: 3000 - 2750 - 2500 - 2250 - 2000 - 1750 - 1500 - 1250 - 1200

I'm trying this as we speak. After I'm done I'll let you all know if it worked.

Thanks,

Kas
Airliners.net Crew - Head Photo Screener
 
9VSPO
Posts: 4187
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:03 pm

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:45 am

Quoting AirKas1 (Reply 4):
I've tried to upload it, but it's 2.4M

Just open a free account at www.flickr.com and you can link from that.
 
User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 5124
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:49 am

Quoting Bottie (Reply 3):
I had sometimes the same problem. Try to resize in small steps:

eg: 3000 - 2750 - 2500 - 2250 - 2000 - 1750 - 1500 - 1250 - 1200


That helped for me

It helped me aswell!! It's fixed, thank you very much Bram!  praise 

Quoting 9VSPO (Reply 5):
Just open a free account at www.flickr.com and you can link from that.

Thanks Ian, I'll do that to make sure I can link in the future!

Kas
Airliners.net Crew - Head Photo Screener
 
bottie
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:53 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:30 am

Quoting AirKas1 (Reply 6):
It helped me aswell!! It's fixed, thank you very much Bram!

Glad I could help, Kas  Smile
 
User avatar
jumbojim747
Posts: 2426
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:05 pm

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:32 am

I noticed resizing in steps you lose a pixel.
For instance when you re size in steps to
1200-800 = 1200-799
1024-683 = 1024-682.
Not sure why this happens and not sure if its enough for a size rejection.
Cheers
On a wing and a prayer
 
aero145
Posts: 2867
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:59 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:09 am

Hey Kas.

Do you shoot RAW?

If you do, I'm surprised that you get jaggies. I was just editing a bunch of RAW pictures today and the photos were too soft...

No jaggies at all!  Confused
 
Stealthz
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:43 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:44 am

Quoting Aero145 (Reply 9):
Do you shoot RAW?

Was going to ask the same question, if not RAW what sharpness level to you have you in camera jpg processing set to?

I tried a RAW image and a 0 sharpness JPG and could not produce enough jaggies to evaluate Bram's technique.

Cheers

Chris
If your camera sends text messages, that could explain why your photos are rubbish!
 
User avatar
dlednicer
Crew
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:35 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:03 pm

Quoting JumboJim747 (Reply 8):
I noticed resizing in steps you lose a pixel.
For instance when you re size in steps to
1200-800 = 1200-799
1024-683 = 1024-682.
Not sure why this happens and not sure if its enough for a size rejection.

I did get a size rejection on that and learned to check my final size after using progressive resizing. I make sure the last resize has one dimension correct (eg. 1024) and the other too big. Then I switch the marquee tool in Photoshop to fixed size (set to the 1024x768) and crop one more time.
 
bottie
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:53 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:36 pm

When resizing, I always stop at 1203 x .... (I mostly upload at 1200x800), Final step for me is 'Canvas size', that way I avoid also bad_borders (eg. 1203 x803 becomes 1200x800)
 
User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 5124
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:44 pm

Quoting JumboJim747 (Reply 8):
I noticed resizing in steps you lose a pixel.
For instance when you re size in steps to
1200-800 = 1200-799
1024-683 = 1024-682.

Hmm, You're right! It's indeed 1024x682.

Quoting Aero145 (Reply 9):
Do you shoot RAW?

The photos from yesterday weren't shot in RAW.

Quoting StealthZ (Reply 10):
if not RAW what sharpness level to you have you in camera jpg processing set to?

I'm not sure what you're talking about. Sharpening the image in the camera? I haven't touched anything regarding that, so it's probably at standard.

Anyways, I might have to retry tomorrow, as it's scheduled for the 22th again  Smile

-Kas
Airliners.net Crew - Head Photo Screener
 
Stealthz
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:43 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:02 pm

Quoting AirKas1 (Reply 13):
I'm not sure what you're talking about. Sharpening the image in the camera? I

Then with all due respect you need to read your camera manual.. the JPG settings in your camera have several sharpening settings and depending on which camera model you use the standard settings may or may not be appropriate for aviation photography.

Cheers
If your camera sends text messages, that could explain why your photos are rubbish!
 
linco22
Posts: 1279
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:41 am

I dont personally shoot RAW alot, but I have never really found sharpening an issue in RAW. I cant say that RAW images are softer from the camera. Take off an in-camera shapenning for sure just to be safe. YOU choose the level of sharpness in the RAW image. YOU control it.

The resizing steps is very interesting. Something i've never tried and never really had too. I'll bear it in mind next time I have trouble.

Regards
Colin  Smile
 
User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 5124
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:23 am

Quoting StealthZ (Reply 14):
Then with all due respect you need to read your camera manual.. the JPG settings in your camera have several sharpening settings and depending on which camera model you use the standard settings may or may not be appropriate for aviation photography.

Hi Chris,

I couldn't find it in the manual, but I checked it in the menu of my camera. The sharpness is standard, the meter stands right in the middle.
I have a Canon 300D, is this setting suitable for aviation photogrpahy?

-Kas
Airliners.net Crew - Head Photo Screener
 
Stealthz
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:43 am

RE: How To Get Rid Of These Jaggies?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:31 am

Kaz,
I beleive that is the appropriate setting, perhaps someone with a 300D can confirm.
For your reference the 300D English language Manual has a section on Setting Processing Parameters on page 55

Regards

Chris
If your camera sends text messages, that could explain why your photos are rubbish!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest