iRISH251
Posts: 620
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:56 am

Use Of Autofill When Uploading Compulsory Or Not?

Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:35 am

Perusing some recent uploads, I came across a shot of a military aircraft of which there were already two photos on the database with full model, squadron code and c/n information - yet the recent upload lacked this information. This is not the first time I have noticed this occurring.

What is the screeners' view of this? I would have thought that creating such unnecessary work for the database editors should attract an unfavourable response.
 
User avatar
airkas1
Crew
Posts: 4819
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:01 am

RE: Use Of Autofill When Uploading Compulsory Or Not?

Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:47 am

You always have to use the auto-complete function.
However, if you know more details than the auto-fill, just add them.
Airliners.net Crew - Photo Screener
 
User avatar
ptrjong
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:38 am

RE: Use Of Autofill When Uploading Compulsory Or Not?

Mon Sep 04, 2006 9:52 am

Quoting AirKas1 (Reply 1):
However, if you know more details than the auto-fill, just add them.

Yes, and just correct or remove them if necessary.

For example, if there is more than one aircraft to choose from, the auto-fill will often fill in a construction number and code, even if these are unknown/non-existant for your aircraft.

Peter
The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad (Salvador Dali)
 
iRISH251
Posts: 620
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:56 am

RE: Use Of Autofill When Uploading Compulsory Or Not?

Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:34 am

Quoting AirKas1 (Reply 1):
You always have to use the auto-complete function.

My point was that it seems you don't have to use the auto-complete function, i.e. your image may still be accepted even if you don't use it. Or perhaps a screener can't know without doing a database search whether a particular aircraft is already featured in the database?
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Use Of Autofill When Uploading Compulsory Or Not?

Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:04 am

Don't think that there is a "must use" rule.
The auto fill option is not always usable in which case I just ignore it and type in all the info myself.
With my latest upload I got 3 or 4 different possible aircrafts but none I needed leaving me without much options other then "do it yourself".
The truth lives in one’s mind, it doesn’t really exist

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests