schreiner
Posts: 909
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2001 7:50 am

Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:14 am

Im messing a bit with PS CS 2, what do you guys think? Is the auto level function usefull? Sometimes I use the lightest and darkest point in the picture to get the levels right. But that takes a lot more time. Whats your guess? Thanks!
Soaring the internet...
 
JeffM
Posts: 7569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:32 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:23 am

Quoting Schreiner (Thread starter):
Is the auto level function usefull?

No. And that is not a guess.  Wink
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:32 am

Learn to use Levels manually, it is much more helpful.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
Smalbany
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 2:29 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:37 am

In my experience, the auto levels tool does not work well for aviation pictures. If the picture is pretty straight forward (ie sky as the background) I usually use levels and then adjust the levels based on the histogram by sliding the right and left sliders to remove the empty space from the histogram.

If it's a more complicated composition, I mark the darkest spot and the lightest spot and then use the curves tool to adjust.

Just my 2 cents,
Dan
 
schreiner
Posts: 909
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2001 7:50 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:00 am

Okay, Dan, thats also what I am doing sometimes, but what do you do with the middle marker in the histogram?

Cheers,
Schreiner
Soaring the internet...
 
Smalbany
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 2:29 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:16 am

Quoting Schreiner (Reply 4):
what do you do with the middle marker in the histogram?

Usually I just leave it alone.

If the picture still looks too dark, I may move the middle one to the left a bit but it's only a small adjustment. It's easy to over-adjust that one.
 
schreiner
Posts: 909
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2001 7:50 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:37 am

And what if you have clipped sides on both sides?
Cheers,
Schreiner
Soaring the internet...
 
diezel
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:50 pm

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:51 am

As a rule of thumb, to avoid messing too much with the levels afterwards in PS, it is good practise to have a look at the histogram on your camera when you are shooting. Most DSLRs support this feature. By looking at the histogram you will know instantly how to adjust your exposure. It is a lot easier than judging the exposure by the picture in the little LCD screen on the back of your camera.

Another usefull feature on many cameras is the "show the blown out whites by flashing". Using both features together will give you less work in PS.

Roel.
Never be afraid of what you like. (Miles Davis)
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Auto Level Function In PS

Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:54 am

Quoting Schreiner (Reply 6):
And what if you have clipped sides on both sides?

Then your photo has too much contrast and you should lower it. This usually means that the blacks are pure black and the whites have been blown out, and is not necessarily fixable.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests