airplanenut

What Method For Focusing Do You Use?

Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:37 am

I've seen arguments for both continuous focus and single focus.

For continuous, apparently you can be just a tad out of focus and not have it fixed, and thus get a blurry shot.

With single focus, though, you can't shoot unless you're in focus, and I've had my camera reset when it was just slightly out of focus (go all the way out, then back into focus) causing me to lose shots. Additionally, you have to refocus if the plane moves.

What do you use, and why? I'm using a D70.

Jeremy
Why yes, in fact, I am a rocket scientist...

Fly747

RE: What Method For Focusing Do You Use?

Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:04 pm

For planes I always use continuos focus. Single focus, like you said, you have to refocus everytime. In this mode however your focus can lock but by the time you take the actual photo the plane moves fast and you are left with an unfocused image. Thus I always use Servo AF.

Ivan

DC3

Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:31 pm

AI focus (predictive auto-focus) on Canon. Because this can handle fast-moving subjects. I leave the camera set up like this more-or-less permanentsly and for stationary subjects I use the autofocus to get roughly in the right spot then fine-tune manually if necessary.

Other people get equally good results using other methods, so it's down to how you prefer to work.

Chris

viv

Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:39 pm

Predictive autofocus works best with moving subjects.
Nikon D700, Nikkor 80-400, Fuji X Pro 1, Fujinon 35 f/1.4, Fujinon 18 f/2

Psych

Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:11 am

Jeremy.

With my old 300D I got used to constantly pressing and re-pressing the shutter half way with my aviation photography, as it did not have AI Servo (continuous focusing) in Av mode.