robban75
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:55 am

How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:58 pm

I got this photo rejected because it was over sharpened?

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/r...ections/big/20061128_mirage2K1.jpg

Thing is, apart from adding a tiny bit of contrast, the only modification to the original is that it has been downsized. The original size is 3008X2000 and the format is JPG.

What to do?  Sad

//Robert
 
linco22
Posts: 1279
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Robert,

Very nice image! To be honest i've never experienced major jaggies when re-sizing and NOT applying sharpening but I have heard that perhaps re-sizing in stages might help reduce this.

Good luck with it

Regards
Colin
 
flyingzacko
Posts: 572
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:46 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:35 pm

Quoting Robban75 (Thread starter):
Thing is, apart from adding a tiny bit of contrast, the only modification to the original is that it has been downsized. The original size is 3008X2000 and the format is JPG.

What to do? Sad

Sounds to me like you might have the in-camera sharpening set too high. Check the camera settings and make sure to have the in-camera sharpening turned off, or set to 0.

Cheers,
Sebastian
Canon 40D + 24-70 f/2.8 L + 70-200 f/4 L + Speedlite 430EX
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:37 pm

Quoting Robban75 (Thread starter):
What to do?

If you didn't sharpen the shot you could still, after resizing, use a softening mask to eliminate the jaggies.
Here's a quick edit, though since I'm not at my "post-processing computer" I'm not 100% sure about the result:

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/b...g/ready/20061128_mirage2K1edit.jpg

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:06 pm

Down sizing an image will normally soften it just a touch. If your image has come out of the camera oversharp, as said above turn off your camera's sharpening process. One thing you can try in PS is when you re-size your image, set the Resample Image choice to Bicubic Smoother. This will not try and add any sharpening to the resizing process.

Good luck,

Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
jajo
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:31 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:36 pm

Robert,

What program and method did you use to downsize the image? I have seen this kind of "over-sharpening" look on pictures which was resized using a bad image editor or wrong method of resizing.

"The Gimp" is an excellent image editor. Both open source and free of charge.

Kind regards,
Jacob
 
dbudd
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:39 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:30 am

Thierry

Tell us newbies more about this 'softening mask'. Seperate layer and then what??

Dave
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:45 am

Quoting Dbudd (Reply 6):
Tell us newbies more about this 'softening mask'

Well, first you gotta create a duplicate layer which you'll then soften as much as required with the normal softening option (now the whole image is treated); you'll cover it with a mask layer (all softening disappears again) and then you take the brush tool and remove the mask (thus making the softening visible) where it is required.
After having treated all the required areas you merge the layers and you're done.
You can of course repeat the step as often as you want.
In addition the masking method works with about any tool, like sharpening, saturation, contrast, lighting, ...

That way you'll get the required changes only on those parts of the photo where you need them.  Smile

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
linco22
Posts: 1279
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:16 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02 am

Quoting ThierryD (Reply 7):
mask

NOT available in Elements! I must save up for CS2 someday
 
garry
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:19 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:29 am

Hi Colin - get yourself onto e bay you can pick a copy of cs2 up for £10. Also Elements 5 is either just out or coming out and it may have Masks built in? I believe they have updated the file browser to Adobe Bridge too which is the browser in CS2 and is excellent.


Regards
Garry
www.garryridsdale.com
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:49 am

Quoting Garry (Reply 9):
get yourself onto e bay you can pick a copy of cs2 up for £10

maybe the upgrade or the handbook but surely not a fully functional Full version of CS2! ...not even on ebay!

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
Avsfan
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:37 pm

RE: How Is It Possible?

Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:47 am

Quoting Garry (Reply 9):
Elements 5 is either just out or coming out and it may have Masks built in?

I have PSE 5.0 and it does not have the capability to make masks. An individual would have to use the different versions of PhotoShop.
"Oh I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth...Put out my hand and touched the face of God"
 
robban75
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:55 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:40 pm

Thanks for the replies all!  Smile

Quoting Jajo (Reply 5):
What program and method did you use to downsize the image?

Hi Jacob,

I usually downsize the images in photoshop, and sometimes in MS paint.
 
jajo
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:31 am

RE: How Is It Possible?

Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:56 pm

Quoting Robban75 (Reply 12):
sometimes in MS paint

No good idea!

That would explain the sharp edges on the photo, MS paint has a very bad resize feature.

Regards,

/ Jacob

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests