sajmon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:08 pm

My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:29 am

Hi!

Would like to know your opinions about my pictures I've uploaded for screening today.

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/ethiada332.jpg

http://www.airliners.net/addphotos/big/ready/IMG_4399.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Simon
 
waketurbulence
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 12:33 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:35 am

First, most people here would say downsize them. 1500 pixels is large for Anet. 1100 or 1200 would hide more flaws in editing of the photo. For the A330 it feels low in the frame, and I see some jaggies as well. For the Lufthansa, it is an automatic motive rejection with the pole blocking the nose gear. That shot needs to be pulled from the queue. The file name needs to be changed as well from the generic camera file name. And the wires in the sky look like they have been sharpened to me. When you sharpen the picture make sure to sharpen only the parts necessary. The sky in general should not be sharpened.
-Matt

[Edited 2007-08-05 22:37:53]
 
ThomasW1974
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 4:22 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:39 am

Hi Simon,

besides the already mentioned oversharpening, both shots are badly centered leaving too much
dead space at the nose of the aircraft. The LH shot has no chance as Matt pointed out due to the
blocked nose gear.

If you rework the Etihad A330 by getting rid of the jaggies and centering the shot correctly
horizontal and vertical it could get in as the basic quality seems to be good.

Cheers, Thomas
 
sajmon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:08 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:45 am

Thank you guys for the quick answears. I probably have to work on my editing skills just a bit more.

Simon
 
747ata32
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:49 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:45 pm

Quoting WakeTurbulence (Reply 1):
And the wires in the sky look like they have been sharpened to me. When you sharpen the picture make sure to sharpen only the parts necessary. The sky in general should not be sharpened.

Hi guys,
Probably an "initial intro course lesson one" kind of question, but when I use the sharpen function in CS3, it appears like the entire picture is sharpened. How can I select a part of the photo to be sharpened seperately?

Thanks for the help!

Frank
Flown: 733, 734, 73G, 738, 739, 742, 743, 744, M11, 752, 763, F100, F70, SF340, A319, A320, A321, A332, 772, 77W, D10, D
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Quoting 747ata32 (Reply 4):
Hi guys,
Probably an "initial intro course lesson one" kind of question, but when I use the sharpen function in CS3, it appears like the entire picture is sharpened. How can I select a part of the photo to be sharpened seperately?

Various ways to sharpen an image. The most common way is just to use USM or Smart Sharpen. This of course sharpens all the image and can generate noise. A way round this is to make a duplicate layer, apply a high level of sharpening then make that layer a hidden mask. Then select your brush in white, opacity to maybe 30% then 'paint' away the just the areas you want sharpening. Another common way used here is to create a duplicate layer, apply sharpening in small levels. When jaggies appear use the rubber tool to remove them.

There are also many other methods of sharpening, select edges, sharpening only selected colour channels. Experiment and see which one works best for you.

Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:14 pm

Quoting Sajmon (Reply 3):
I probably have to work on my editing skills just a bit more.



Quoting 747ata32 (Reply 4):
Probably an "initial intro course lesson one" kind of question, but when I use the sharpen function in CS3, it appears like the entire picture is sharpened.

Simon, Frank here's a guide that might help you when looking for hints for editing and uploading:
http://planecatcher.com/IGRR.htm
and more specially, take a look at the masterclass threads; the links can be found here:
http://planecatcher.com/IGRR/Generalhints.htm

Cheers,

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
AirMalta
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:02 pm

RE: My First Uploads To Airliners.net

Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:08 pm

Thanks for the editing link Thierry I found it of good help
Malc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 39 guests