whappeh
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:47 am

How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 6:49 pm

Well, I know for sure I didn't add any border to this photo. All I did in PS was crop, and do some extra work. Got rejected for border, and I can see it, but I am confused as to how it got there, or how to remove it... since I didn't do anything to put it there.

http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...lename=20070906_N815AWBIGPHXdg.jpg

Any ideas?
-Travel now, journey infinitely.
 
User avatar
ThierryD
Crew
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:58 pm

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 7:07 pm

Hi Brendan!

Must be some typical PS issue; had that too in my old PS7; I got a border on every photo I edited. No clue why but at some point the program stopped adding the borders; also no clue why. Some other guys also have this issue with PS.
One more reason I'm happy with PSPX; it's not doing things I don't want it to do.  Smile

Thierry
"Go ahead...make my day"
 
brianw999
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 3:15 am

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:16 pm

I can't answer your specific question and I don't get that problem in PS CS2 but I can give tip on avoiding crop edges showing, especially when cropping after a rotation adjustment. The PS background in default is a very light clour and sometimes isn't seen in a faulty crop.
It involves setting the background of your picture in PS to a bright colour ( I use bright red ) so that any intruding crop edge becomes immediately obvious.

With PS open go to the toolbar and click on the background rectangle in the box four up from the bottom.....see here...



A "select background colour" window pops up...see here...



Choose and set a bright colour and when you next rotate an image this is what you'll see....



Hope this is of some help.
 
User avatar
scbriml
Posts: 13245
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:37 pm

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:50 pm

Quoting Whappeh (Thread starter):

That's a nice shot, but it looks like there is a window reflection just above the 1st door of the A320.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana!
 
whappeh
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:47 am

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 9:07 pm

Quoting Scbriml (Reply 3):
That's a nice shot, but it looks like there is a window reflection just above the 1st door of the A320.

Thats because there is.  Sad It was shot from a window during push back (you can see the wing of the aircraft I'm on bottom left).

Quoting ThierryD (Reply 1):
Must be some typical PS issue; had that too in my old PS7;

I'm using CS2, this is the first time its ever happened to me. Very surprised when I saw the "border" rejection. Normally I'm used to Motive being there... I'll just have to give it another edit and see what I come up with.
-Travel now, journey infinitely.
 
User avatar
clickhappy
Posts: 9042
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 12:10 pm

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:06 pm

When you select the square crop tool there is a box labeled Feather.

Make sure this is set to 0 px

Any shot with a window reflection will receive a motiv rejection.
 
User avatar
scbriml
Posts: 13245
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:37 pm

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:10 pm

Quoting Whappeh (Reply 4):
It was shot from a window during push back (you can see the wing of the aircraft I'm on bottom left).

I did manage to work that out for myself.  wink 

Unfortunately, as Royal pointed out

Quoting Clickhappy (Reply 5):
Any shot with a window reflection will receive a motiv rejection.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana!
 
whappeh
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:47 am

RE: How Did This Get Here? Border Topic.

Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:15 pm

Yeah. Are those possible to photoshop out? Do a little cloning over the affected areas and get passed the screeners?
-Travel now, journey infinitely.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cypilot and 4 guests