mnazarinia
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:40 am

Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Sat Nov 24, 2007 5:10 am

Hi there everybody,

This is for the second time that I am receiving dirty rejection of one of my photos. The first time I got this rejection, I opened up my image file in photoshop and then followed the following procedure to remove dusts:

1. duplicate layer
2. equalized the duplicated layer
3. using heal option removed the dust spots which I could see were there and by healing object were gone now
4. deleted the duplicate layer
5. save the image

and at the end just re-uploaded the photo thinking that all the dusts are gone now. But today again my photo got rejected because of the same reason! being dirty. When I opened the file again in the photoshop I have noticed that all the dusts are there and again followed the above procedure, saved the file and then opened in photoshop again and interestingly all the dust seeing there!!!

Is there something that I am missing?

This is the first one being rejected:
Big version: Width: 1024 Height: 683 File size: 451kb


This is the photo that I removed dust spots again:
Big version: Width: 1024 Height: 683 File size: 458kb


Thanks and regards,
Mehdi.
 
mnazarinia
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:40 am

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:39 am

Hi guys,

I now know what the problem is, I was selecting the background layer, I was selecting the copied layer!!!

Cheers,
Mehdi.
 
User avatar
scbriml
Posts: 13245
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:37 pm

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:11 am



Quoting Mnazarinia (Reply 1):
I now know what the problem is, I was selecting the background layer, I was selecting the copied layer!!!

Yes, done that before!  smile 

Once you've been doing this for a while, you'll notice this straight away because the dust spots will disappear when you use the healing tool or clone stamp. When you have the background layer selected, the dust spots stay visible even though you've healed them.

If you have a shot with a lot of dust spots, it's worth repeating the process just to make sure you didn't miss any with the first pass.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana!
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Sat Nov 24, 2007 9:12 am

Your better off creating an action to do it all for you then you will never forget to select the right layer, plus its quicker too.

Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
michlis
Posts: 696
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 8:13 am

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:26 pm



Quoting Mnazarinia (Thread starter):
This is for the second time that I am receiving dirty rejection of one of my photos.



Quoting Jid (Reply 3):
Your better off creating an action to do it all for you then you will never forget to select the right layer, plus its quicker too.

Sounds like a sensor clean is order too.  Smile
If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the outcome of a hundred battles.
 
mnazarinia
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:40 am

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:21 am

I agree with the sensor cleaning.

Quoting Jid (Reply 3):
Your better off creating an action to do it all for you then you will never forget to select the right layer, plus its quicker too.

Jid

Jid,
I am not familiar with creating actions, how can I learn about it?


Also I think!! I have cleaned the dust spots and re-upload my photo again. It is again rejected not only due to being dirty but also due to the bad editing as well. The screener has put a personal note for me as: " Visible cloning over the dust spots. " I don't understand what it means. Can I ask someone to explain it to me please?

Thanks. the link to my rejected photo is here: http://www.airliners.net/procphotos/...ilename=20071127_IMG_1132_ver7.jpg

Cheers,
Mehdi.
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:18 am

Making an action is quite simple really.

Open an image, any will do.

First select your Action Pallet (F9)
At the base of the pallet are your function buttons.

First thing - Press 'Create new set'
This makes a named folder where your actions will be kept. Give your action set a name.
Second - Press 'Create new action'
This will open another box called new action.
First - give you new action a name.
Second - Assign your action to a Set. This will be the set you created at the start but it does not have to be.
Third - Function Key, an optional setting. This is one of the ways you can run your action once it is completed it. You can select function key and either the Alt ot Ctrl to go with it.
Forth - Color, this is the color your button will be when you switch to button mode.

Now you are ready to record your action so press the Record button. (Almost everything you do now will be recorded so be careful).

1. Create duplicate layer.
2. Equalise the layer.
3. Press F7 to open your layer pallet and select the Background layer.
4. Select your Heal Tool

This is as far as you acn go now so press the Stop Recording button at the bottom left of your action pallet.
You have created an action!

Go to the wing menu of your action pallet (just below the minimise and close at the top right) and open it.
Select Button Mode and you will be left with one button now for each action set. You will see the action you have just created and now every time you want to remove dust from an image all you have to do is press that button and your good to go.

I would also make another action that selects the duplicate layer and deletes it. Keep these two actions together and it will make dust removal a whole lot quicker and easier Big grin

Takes a time time to set up all your actions but they will save you a whole lot of time in the future.

Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
dimoko
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:44 pm

RE: Dust Removal Rejection Help Needed!

Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:59 pm

i have a few sets of shots with dust as well.

does anyone know if a similar procedure exists in the GIMP?
"I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be." -- Douglas Adams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dvincent, rpd14 and 3 guests