syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:21 am

I've had Apple's Aperture software for quite a while now (since about a month after it came out), and while I have organized all my photos perfectly in my library I still have yet to figure out a decent workflow for developing my photos. I realize it is not a replacement for Photoshop by any means, and I still have Photoshop (CS3 Extended).

Does any one have any recommendations or experiences?

-Charlie  wave 
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:28 pm

Probably the same way I use lightroom. Do your tonal/color edits/noise reduction/input sharpening in aperture, then export to Photoshop to do selective sharpening, then use Save for Web from PS.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
psyops
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:37 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:45 pm

Aperture is great for intake and initial screening, but it lacks the ability to selectively sharpen. You would have to sharpen the entire image.

In my experience, next to useless for av photos to be uploaded here.

However, I use it for almost all my sports photos and other assignments. Can intake large quantities and then use the ratings features to reject and rate photos for further work. I can go through 500 shots from a sports event and export 50 jpegs edited ready to go in a couple hours.
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:59 pm



Quoting Psyops (Reply 2):
In my experience, next to useless for av photos to be uploaded here.

The kind of sharpening that Aperture does is the same kind of sharpening used in Lightroom or Adobe Camera RAW. It's input sharpening designed to reduce bayer mosaic artifacts and gaussian blurs from antialiasing filters. Some of this has to be done regardless of output or selective sharpening. You don't really want to selectively do input sharpening because that sort of stuff affects the whole image at its full, original size. It's the same with almost any RAW converter (even ACR or Bridge, even though you just drag it in to PS after the fact).

You just export the frames you want to PS and selectively sharpen them in there at your final size. Two different tools that work overall on the image.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
psyops
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:37 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:23 pm



Quoting Dvincent (Reply 3):
You just export the frames you want to PS and selectively sharpen them in there at your final size.

Like I said useless for photos here unless used with another tool.
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:58 pm

Quoting Psyops (Reply 4):
Like I said useless for photos here unless used with another tool.

All RAW converters are like this though. So I don't really see it as a strike against Aperture or Lightroom or those kinds of programs. This applies to Nikon Capture, CaptureOne, Bridge, Lightroom, Rawshooter, ACR, Aperture... they all require PS or something else. The fact that ACR or Bridge can automatically send it to PS or can be called from PS is moot; they themselves can't handle it - you still need PS in the end. They're two different tools for two different purposes. Use Aperture/Lightroom to convert your RAWs and organize them and do the major tonal/color edits, and PS to selectively sharpen the frames you want. It's not meant to replace PS, it complements it.

[Edited 2007-12-19 14:10:37]
From the Mind of Minolta
 
JRadier
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:36 pm

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:12 pm



Quoting Psyops (Reply 4):
Like I said useless for photos here unless used with another tool.

that's a lot more positive already.

On the other hand, I would hardly call Lightroom and Aperture nest to useless for photo's for this website. I do everything in LR except for sharpening which I do in PS. It has sped up my workflow tremendously and it is so extremely powerfull. Editing while selecting, just browsing trough them, I love it.
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and ther
 
syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

RE: Apple Aperture - Workflow?

Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:42 pm

Thanks for all the input everyone. This is what I was looking for, I basically need to treat Aperture like I would CaptureOne when I used it, basic tonal correction, input sharpening, and noise reduction. Leaving the rest to Photoshop. This is a change from what I was trying to do with Aperture in making it an "all-in-one" tool for developing my RAW images.

Thanks again for the help!

-Charlie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests