Jawed
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:47 am

Auto Colors In A Layer In Photoshop

Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:38 am

I noticed I can do Levels in a layer, so I can store the "Auto Levels" enhancement, which is an option inside Levels, in a layer. However, I can't seem to do Auto Colors in a layer. How do I do that?
 
waketurbulence
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 12:33 pm

RE: Auto Colors In A Layer In Photoshop

Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:37 am

I would avoid using Auto anything in photoshop. Most of the time it doesn't come out right. I think you would get the same advice from many photographers. As for the layers, I can't help you. I rarely use any layers, and they are only for sharpening and erasing.
-Matt
 
Stealthz
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:43 am

RE: Auto Colors In A Layer In Photoshop

Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:11 am



Quoting WakeTurbulence (Reply 1):
I would avoid using Auto anything in photoshop. Most of the time it doesn't come out right

Can't argue with that piece of advice, adjust something with Auto "anything" then look at the histogram, it might frighten you to see how much of the information in your picture has just disappeared

Quoting WakeTurbulence (Reply 1):
I rarely use any layers, and they are only for sharpening and erasing.

I would like to think Matt meant to say HE rarely uses layers and when HE does it is only for sharpening and erasing. Layers give you far more capability than that.

Cheers

Chris
If your camera sends text messages, that could explain why your photos are rubbish!
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: Auto Colors In A Layer In Photoshop

Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:15 am



Quoting Jawed (Thread starter):
I can't seem to do Auto Colors in a layer

If you do wish to use the auto color correction you will need to open the options box under the auto button in your levels pallet. Here you can pick one of three algorithms to be used by the 'auto' button. You can also set any clipping you wish to use. This function might not be very useful in RGB mode but can be useful when working on a single channel depending what you are trying to achieve.

Layers are very useful indeed and I would recommend that everyone uses them in conjunction with an action to create them. This gives you a head start in you processing and if you go further and create actions to adjust each layer you can achieve a button only process for your level/contrast/colour correction process.

Good luck .. Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Auto Colors In A Layer In Photoshop

Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:49 pm

In the levels dialog box, the "snap to neutral midtones" is basically the auto color command. Auto color is essentially auto levels with that box ticked.
From the Mind of Minolta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests