skyhawkmatthew
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:42 pm

Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:07 am

I normally use Photoshop Elements 2 and iPhoto '08, but when I upgraded my MacBook to Leopard PS got broken  Sad

Adobe's help just says to buy a newer version that does work, but I am considering going to Aperture instead.
What do you think?

Matt  airplane 

P.S. If I go with Aperture, should I wait until version 2 comes out? (it's rumoured to be soon)
Qantas - The Spirit of Australia.
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:41 am

You need both.

Also, PS CS2 should work in Leopard, I use it at the office now and then. It runs in Rosetta and runs a little slowly, but it works.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
skyhawkmatthew
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:42 pm

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:02 am

Thanks for the reply Dvincent, Adobe just announced Photoshop Elements 6 today, and I think I'll lean towards that and keep organising the images in iPhoto. Thanks for the help!

Matt  airplane 
Qantas - The Spirit of Australia.
 
JRadier
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:36 pm

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:47 pm

When you are considering Aperture take a look at Lightroom as well.
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and ther
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:53 pm



Quoting Skyhawkmatthew (Reply 2):
Thanks for the reply Dvincent, Adobe just announced Photoshop Elements 6 today, and I think I'll lean towards that and keep organising the images in iPhoto. Thanks for the help!

Elements 6 should have a bridge-ish element to it for your RAWs. The advantage of Aperture or Lightroom is that they are excellent RAW converters and are good at organizing, much more so than iPhoto.

I use Lightroom on the PC and I also have Aperture and Lightroom on my Mac (boy is my wallet hurting). I tend to prefer Aperture but I do most of my editing on my PC so Lightroom is the organizational tool of choice. I then export out full res images to Photoshop to downsample, sharpen, and do final prep for a.net or prints.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
skyhawkmatthew
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:42 pm

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 7:48 pm



Quoting Dvincent (Reply 4):
Elements 6 should have a bridge-ish element to it for your RAWs.

Yes, I had a look around in iPhoto preferences and you can tell it to edit in an external editor (optionally) and send RAWs to the external editor (I think iPhoto doesn't like RAWs and prefers RAW+JPEG shooting - I don't tend to shoot RAW anyway, too big!).

I like the way iPhoto 7 organises images - I've had it since it was released, so the "external editor" option that means PS will save back to the iPhoto image is great.
Qantas - The Spirit of Australia.
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:05 pm



Quoting Skyhawkmatthew (Reply 5):
Yes, I had a look around in iPhoto preferences and you can tell it to edit in an external editor (optionally) and send RAWs to the external editor (I think iPhoto doesn't like RAWs and prefers RAW+JPEG shooting - I don't tend to shoot RAW anyway, too big!).

By bridge-ish features I was referring to a feature similar to Adobe Bridge for full Photoshop. My mistake.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
chrisair
Posts: 1771
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2000 11:32 pm

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:07 pm



Quoting Dvincent (Reply 1):
Also, PS CS2 should work in Leopard, I use it at the office now and then. It runs in Rosetta and runs a little slowly, but it works.

What kind of system are you running? I've been hesitant to upgrade to Leopard since I run CS2. I've heard lots of good things about Leopard, but I'm too cheap to upgrade to CS3...
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:29 pm



Quoting Chrisair (Reply 7):
What kind of system are you running? I've been hesitant to upgrade to Leopard since I run CS2. I've heard lots of good things about Leopard, but I'm too cheap to upgrade to CS3...

I have a dual 2.16 iMac at work and a dual 1.8 Macbook at home. Leopard running on both.

Leopard won't break CS2, it will still work. Just that if you go to an Intel mac from a PPC mac, it will have to run in Rosetta and therefore will be slower.
From the Mind of Minolta
 
skyhawkmatthew
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:42 pm

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:36 pm



Quoting Chrisair (Reply 7):
What kind of system are you running?

I'm running Leopard (10.5.1) on a Late 2006 MacBook (2.0GHz C2D) with 2 gigs of RAM - everything works including AppleWorks and an ancient version of GraphicConverter, but not Photoshop Elements 2:

A friend who upgraded their PowerBook G4/1.67/1GB got Photoshop 7 broken as well.
I know CS3 works (from another friend), but don't know about CS2. Try this Adobe support document.


Apart from broken Photoshop, Leopard is absolutely fantastic! (and runs very well on an 800 MHz iMac and 1.25 PowerBook and slowly on a 450MHz Power Mac!)

Matt  airplane 
Qantas - The Spirit of Australia.
 
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:53 am

RE: Aperture Or Photoshop?

Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:52 pm



Quoting Skyhawkmatthew (Reply 9):
Apart from broken Photoshop, Leopard is absolutely fantastic! (and runs very well on an 800 MHz iMac and 1.25 PowerBook and slowly on a 450MHz Power Mac!)

Elements 2 is very old. I'm not surprised it broke. But I just used CS2 today with no issues.
From the Mind of Minolta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alhenderson, fikrinoor and 13 guests