roni957
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:52 pm

I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:30 pm

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I have bought a canon 40d but i would like someone could help me saying what kind of configuration should i have for spotting. Any help should be appreciate. Thank a lot
 
leadingedge
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 4:24 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:13 pm

Would suggest.
Centre weighted Average Metering
AV mode for jets
TV for turbo props with engines running, shutter speed below 300th/sec
AI servo mode
Auto focus with centre spot selected.
colour space SRGB
Colour, sharpness etc set to Zero
Noise reduction off
Lens cap off.

ISO100,200 or 400 depending on the conditions, the lower the number the better.

Hope that helps.
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4636
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:15 pm



Quoting LeadingEdge (Reply 1):
Centre weighted Average Metering
AV mode for jets
TV for turbo props with engines running, shutter speed below 300th/sec
AI servo mode
Auto focus with centre spot selected.
colour space SRGB
Colour, sharpness etc set to Zero
Noise reduction off
Lens cap off.

Depends on the conditions. The above seem, in the main, sensible for sunny weather. I actually set my colour saturation to +1 and sharpness to +3, although everything else gets left at 0. I also use a combo of evaluative and centre-weighted metering depending on where the subject is and what the backdrop/surrounding looks like.

Quoting LeadingEdge (Reply 1):
ISO100,200 or 400 depending on the conditions, the lower the number the better.

Yep, lower the better for less grain but don't forget the 40D's ISO goes up in increments, i.e. 100, 125, 160, 200, 250, 320, etc. (actually equal to available shutter speeds), which offers far more control. For pin-sharp images I'd recommend not going above 250.

Karl
 
waketurbulence
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 12:33 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:09 pm



Quoting Roni957 (Thread starter):
what kind of configuration should i have for spotting

That is a question that can only be answered in general terms. I would read through the manual a few times, know all the camera controls, and go out and test to see what brings out the best results for you. Just don't shoot in auto! Big grin

Quoting JakTrax (Reply 2):
sharpness to +3

Just wondering, why? I understand that it will sharpen the originals a tad, but why would you not want to control it 100% in PS?

-Matt
 
leadingedge
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 4:24 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:33 pm



Quoting WakeTurbulence (Reply 3):
Quoting JakTrax (Reply 2):
sharpness to +3

Just wondering, why? I understand that it will sharpen the originals a tad, but why would you not want to control it 100% in PS?

Me too, do you not risk adding noise unecessarily for example. If you have the right settings, a steady hand and a reasonable lens, you should be sharp enough at a setting of zero- Surely?
 
roni957
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:52 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:05 pm

Thank you very much. I will test your advices.  Wink
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:05 pm



Quoting JakTrax (Reply 2):
I actually set my colour saturation to +1 and sharpness to +3

Far better letting PS do the sharpening and colour adjustment, it is far better at it than a 40D will ever be. If you shoot RAW it makes no difference what you have them set to as you can change those settings in post processing.

Jid
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
roni957
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:52 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:16 pm

¿Why to use SRGB if RGB can get more information ? I have read in SRGB mode images loose information about colors.
 
raoulr
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:29 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:10 pm



Quoting JakTrax (Reply 2):
Yep, lower the better for less grain but don't forget the 40D's ISO goes up in increments, i.e. 100, 125, 160, 200, 250, 320, etc. (actually equal to available shutter speeds), which offers far more control. For pin-sharp images I'd recommend not going above 250.

There was a discussion going on dpreview regarding these intermediate ISO settings.
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1019&message=26230272
It is a bit of a technical story, but the bottom line is to avoid ISO settings 125, 250 and 500. Just FYI.

Regards,

Raoul
 
roni957
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:52 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:03 pm

Raoulr, very interesting discussion. Thank you for this link
 
warbirdz
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 12:11 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:08 pm

Just make sure now that when you submit the images, you use the names of the people as the photographer that helped you, seeing as you couldn't spend the time working it out yourself.

 Wink
 
leadingedge
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 4:24 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:12 am



Quoting Roni957 (Reply 7):
¿Why to use SRGB if RGB can get more information ?

Most if not all PC Monitors will only display SRGB so unless you plan to print your images there is no point in using a wider colour gamut such as Adobe RGB. I f you do want to make prints then use a wider gamut but convert your web images to SRGB.
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4636
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:31 am



Quoting WakeTurbulence (Reply 3):
Just wondering, why? I understand that it will sharpen the originals a tad, but why would you not want to control it 100% in PS?

It's actually a kick-back to my old slide days - I own Photoshop and I use it when I upload the odd shot here (I've only 67 in the database) but other than that I don't like it. My images are primarily for my own satisfaction and I don't normally edit them in any way. I'm aware that most leave the settings at neutral and process post-capture. As for unnecessary grain it's never been a problem - I've never had a 'grainy' reject.

Quoting Raoulr (Reply 8):
but the bottom line is to avoid ISO settings 125, 250 and 500.

I tend to stick with 100 or, occasionally, 200 but I have used the 'in-betweens' and don't see any difference. Maybe there is one but it's certainly hard to see! I have a few pics here taken with ISO125, 160 and even 250.

Karl
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:53 am



Quoting JakTrax (Reply 12):
I tend to stick with 100 or, occasionally, 200 but I have used the 'in-betweens' and don't see any difference. Maybe there is one but it's certainly hard to see! I have a few pics here taken with ISO125, 160 and even 250.

Karl

Karl go with the ISO that gives you the shutter speed you require. You will notice very little difference between ISO100 and 250 even up to 400!
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
spoogle
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:53 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:36 am

Quoting Jid (Reply 13):
I tend to stick with 100 or, occasionally, 200 but I have used the 'in-betweens' and don't see any difference. Maybe there is one but it's certainly hard to see! I have a few pics here taken with ISO125, 160 and even 250.
Hmmm .. personally ive noticed a difference in using either 125 or 160 , it does look like more noise than at 200 !

i may be going mad , but im sure its the case

It does refer to that in the dpreview so why have the in betweens ?

Steady hand ...... thats the way forward ( or IS )

regards

[Edited 2008-02-13 00:41:40]
Its not what you have ... its how you use it :@)
 
Stealthz
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:43 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:48 am

There is a fixation, especially within this community, about low ISO but it is much better to have a sharp shot with a little noise than blurry image that is irrecoverable.
Learn the factors affecting the image and apply them appropriately!

Cheers
If your camera sends text messages, that could explain why your photos are rubbish!
 
User avatar
jid
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:37 pm

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:03 am

Well I have not noticed that Mr Spoogle. I only use the 40D in RAW mode and have used the intermediate ISO's quite a few times due to MAN's not always great weather. These two were shot at ISO160

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Jid Webb
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Jid Webb



No noise reduction used in post processing.
G7EPN is back after 15 years! Operating all Bands 80mtrs -> 70cms QRZ DX
 
Samuel32
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:39 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:07 am

Wow,

I almost always use ISO 125 on my 40D when I got the 100-400L on there because it needs a lot of light which isn't always present. I've haven't noticed any significant noise at it, but if its true that ISO 160 is less grainy in shadows and so on, I'll be glad to use ISO 160 instead of 125.

I'll start testing today.
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4636
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: I Need Help With My New Canon 40d

Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:42 pm



Quoting StealthZ (Reply 15):
There is a fixation, especially within this community, about low ISO but it is much better to have a sharp shot with a little noise than blurry image that is irrecoverable.

I like it! Good comment. My point exactly, but you worded it better.

Quoting Jid (Reply 16):
Well I have not noticed that Mr Spoogle. I only use the 40D in RAW mode and have used the intermediate ISO's quite a few times due to MAN's not always great weather. These two were shot at ISO160

Nope, me neither. Was out at MAN today, light first thing was nice but soft (08:05). ISO100 gave me 1/250, but ISO125 gave me 1/400. I went with the latter. As Jid suggests I use whichever ISO gives me the shutter I want, and I really cannot see any problems with the intermediate ISO settings.

Karl

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests