rtl
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:02 pm

Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:45 pm

Recently got photoshop 3 and the canon raw pluggin. Alot more options than I seemed to have in the standard ps2 with my jpegs. . Any advice from the experts out there on what they do to enhance their work ? Just starting out with this shooting in RAW so any help very much appreciated.

Rgds
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:55 pm

I shoot RAW (CR2) and use CS3 for Macintosh. I've found the best results are to sRGB color space, 8 bits/channel, 10.1 megapizel size, and 240 pixels/inch. All of my uploads here (from about November 2007 and subsequent) have utilized these settings.



Good luck!
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
rtl
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:02 pm

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:04 pm

what about the sharpen option ? Using ps2 I'd use a radius of 0.2 and 250 -500% and unsharpen mask. Not the same options available with the raw pluggin so what,as a general rule, do you find works best ?

Thanks
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:32 pm

I also use USM (unsharp mask), radius 0.2 and anywhere between 200 thru 500 percent. Not sure why you think CS3 doesn't have this feature because it most certainly does. Sharpening is always the last thing I do, after I have converted the file to JPG format.

My basic workflow is:

1. Convert *.cr2 file to JPG using the settings I described above.
2. Level the shot.
3. Remove/clone out dust spots.
4. Resize to 1200 or 1000 pixels-wide.
5. Apply USM as necessary.
6. Save at highest available quality setting (12).
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
rtl
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:02 pm

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:57 pm

I see...I was meaning using the sharpen function as a raw file rather than after you'd converted to jpeg. Your conversion workflow options in your first post...what program is that using ??
Thanks for the workflow. Think I was trying to do too much in canon camera raw rather than convert to jpeg and then process.

cheers
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 7:01 pm



Quoting Rtl (Reply 4):
Your conversion workflow options in your first post...what program is that using ??

Photoshop CS 3 Macintosh. I edit on an iMac (2007 model).
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Canon Raw Processing Using PS3

Sat Nov 22, 2008 7:25 pm



Quoting Flynavy (Reply 1):

A number of folks have inquired about how to get to this screen:



To do so, click on the underlined text where the arrow is pointing in the window below. This is the window that opens up in Photoshop when you open a RAW (*.cr2 for Canon EOS) file.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/refleckt/raw.png


Regards,
Chris in Atlanta
Change is: one airline, six continents!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests