FX772LRF
Topic Author
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:07 am

Pre-Set White Balance

Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:42 am

Hello all,

I'm looking for some help with pre-set (manual) white balance. I've seen videos on how to do this with a white sheet of paper, and I think that'd be my best option. It's cheap, and if I lose the sheet of paper, it's not hard to get another.

My question is how to do this properly. I'm wondering what you would do in a situation such as taking photos of a model. Would you shoot the piece of paper from where you are shooting from, or would you put the piece of paper up close to the model, then shoot that lighting?

Also, in the case of shooting out windows, such as in an aircraft, how/what would you meter?

EDIT: Also, if anyone can explain to me how to use a white or grey card, I'd appreciate that as well.

If you need to know my equipment, it's a Nikon D60 with a 55-200mm f/4-5.6 and an 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6.

Thanks for your help in advance,
-Noah   

[Edited 2010-02-15 22:45:14]
Cleared to IAH via CLL 076 radial/BAZBL/RIICE3, up to 3k, 7k in 10, departure on 134.3, squawk 4676, Colgan 9581.
 
dlednicer
Crew
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:35 am

RE: Pre-Set White Balance

Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:02 am

This shows how to set white balance with a Canon:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq3yzTPb1Ng
There are similar videos on Youtube for Nikons.

I'd like to add a second part to this question. I tried to set the white balance by shooting a picture of a 8.5'x11" piece of white cardstock and quickly discovered that if I got close enough so that the sheet filled the whole frame, the camera couldn't focus and thus wouldn't take the picture. This is particularly a problem with my 100-400mm lens. Is it OK if there are non-white borders?

[Edited 2010-02-16 16:04:38]
 
Silver1SWA
Crew
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: Pre-Set White Balance

Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:24 am

Quoting dlednicer (Reply 1):
I'd like to add a second part to this question. I tried to set the white balance by shooting a picture of a 8.5'x11" piece of white cardstock and quickly discovered that if I got close enough so that the sheet filled the whole frame, the camera couldn't focus and thus wouldn't take the picture. This is particularly a problem with my 100-400mm lens. Is it OK if there are non-white borders?

Switch to servo mode or turn off auto-focus to take a picture without being in focus.
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
User avatar
Moose135
Posts: 2555
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:27 pm

RE: Pre-Set White Balance

Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:27 am

Quoting dlednicer (Reply 1):
...if I got close enough so that the sheet filled the whole frame, the camera couldn't focus and thus wouldn't take the picture.

Focus on the edge (if you can) then shift your aim to the center of the card while holding the shutter half way to hold your focus.
KC-135 - Passing gas and taking names!
 
FX772LRF
Topic Author
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:07 am

RE: Pre-Set White Balance

Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:19 am

Thanks all for the responses!

Quoting dlednicer (Reply 1):

I used the frame of a airplane window the other day, and it didn't fill the whole shot.

Also, I don't think it matters if the shot is in focus or not. (I may be wrong.) It's just got to sense the colors...I don't think it'd have to be in focus for that.

-Noah   
Cleared to IAH via CLL 076 radial/BAZBL/RIICE3, up to 3k, 7k in 10, departure on 134.3, squawk 4676, Colgan 9581.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests