Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

teopilot
Topic Author

Newbie's Question (shots And Airport Net)

Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:59 pm

Hello flying-mates!

I'm a newbie here on airliners.net, but also of reflex photography (I bought 5 days ago my first reflex: a starter kir including Canon EOS 450D body, a canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 + canon 70-300 f/4-5.6, both of them without stabilization. I'd say to be satisfied by the first results   )

now, I'll explain my request, with a little foreword...
I'm used to do spotting in LIML (Milan Linate) or LIMC (Milan Malpensa).
In these two airports there are several spotting points you can go along the day.
Some of them are "open air"... I mean, there are no obstacles between the lens and the aircraft: very good results without any effort....
but other places may present a great problem: THE NET, which surround the whole airport's perimeter; I had some problems in my last spotting sessions due to the fact expressed above.

I tried different ways to solve the problem of the ugly effect coming from the net:
1. I set the diaphragm at the maximum spread (about 4.5 at a focal lenght of 100 mm): focusing on the aircraft, the net seems only a shadow on the shot due to the depth of field rules.
2. I brought near the "natural" holes in the net my lens, in order not to have any obstacle to take my shot.
but this solution seems to work only if I want to shot the aircraft when it is at a reduced angle (referred to the imaginary parallel line to my body; this, in my case, could be identified with the runway)
but if I want to shot at "higher angles" I often have the same problem explained above in the 1st point...

so, I'd want some help, in order to take better shots in these circumstances... I know, here there is a lot of experienced people!!!  

Maybe could I do something in post-production?
or change some settings for these shots?...
or something else!!!

I thank you in advance for the suggestions!!!

regards,
Matteo