FedexL1011
Topic Author
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:23 pm

Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:16 am

Hi all,
I have three questions about Panasonic's SLRs 1)What lenses do they take because pansonics brand of lenses are expensive. 2) Do they have quality do get on here i.e ISO, Softness, The Fact that they are mirco four thirds. 3) What memory card do they use?
Thanks in advance

Regards
J.R. in SEA   
722,732,733,735,737,738,739,744,752,753,763,772,319,320,321,DH8,CRJ2,CRJ7,CRJ9,E175,E145
 
User avatar
NZ107
Posts: 4946
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:51 pm

RE: Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:51 am

Quoting FedexL1011 (Thread starter):
about Panasonic's SLRs
Quoting FedexL1011 (Thread starter):
The Fact that they are mirco four thirds

A Micro four thirds camera is not an SLR. Despite being able to change the lens, it does not make it an SLR camera. In regards to lenses it can use, you can buy converters to use specific brands. I don't know any more about them..

I'm sure it can have the quality to get pictures up here.

They use SD cards.
It's all about the destination AND the journey.
 
PiedmontINT
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:12 am

RE: Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:57 am

1. You answered your own question in #2, they take the Micro Four Thrids family of lenses which will take any lens that is of the Micro Four Thirds mount. However the only lenses dedicated to the Micro Four Thirds Mount are made my Olympus and Panasonic and as you state, they aren't cheap. However.. due to the mirrorless design of the Micro Four Thirds cameras they can easily take nearly any less you can throw at them as long as you have an appropriate adapter.

Like this person who mounted a Canon 70-200 L to a GF1:

http://tysonrobichaudphotography.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/img_3362.jpg

2. Not quite sure what you're asking.. but they have all the settings for ISO, f-stop, shutter speed, etc. just like a normal DSLR. The quality of the shots on a.net isn't always based on the camera body, its the lenses that make or break a shot. These cameras may be the size of point and shoots, but they most definitely are not.

3. Panasonic uses standard SD/SDHC/SDXC memory cards in the 4/3 cameras. A Compact Flash card would be half the size of the body!

Hope this helps!
 
User avatar
NZ107
Posts: 4946
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:51 pm

RE: Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:39 am

Quoting PiedmontINT (Reply 2):
Like this person who mounted a Canon 70-200 L to a GF1

It would be so frustrating without the use of autofocus if you were shooting something like planes.. Also no aperture control either.

Looks just as bad as a 100-400mm on my 400D!
It's all about the destination AND the journey.
 
photopilot
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 11:16 am

RE: Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:02 pm

Quoting NZ107 (Reply 3):
It would be so frustrating without the use of autofocus if you were shooting something like planes.. Also no aperture control either.

Good grief, people have been photographing aircraft LONG before autofocus and all the other electronic photo aids. It was called talent in those days and required lots of practice to get right. And shooting film, you'd be lucky to blast off a roll of 20 or 36 shots for a day, not the hundreds or thousands some of the Machine-Gun type shooters do today.

Oh, and I own and use Panasonic’s Lumix DMC-LX3 With F2.0 24mm Ultra Wide Angle* LEICA DC VARIO-SUMMICRON Lens and have photos in the DB from it. Wonderful camera and great lens, chip and electronics. Also FULL manual control when you want to be the boss.
 
PiedmontINT
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:12 am

RE: Questions About Panasonic

Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:18 pm

Quoting NZ107 (Reply 3):
It would be so frustrating without the use of autofocus if you were shooting something like planes.. Also no aperture control either.

Thats a good point.. I didn't even think about that. No AF isn't the end of the world, but no aperture control is awful. However you can get the same silly effect using. But yes putting an FD lens on a 4/3 camera is certainly possible and you at least have control of the aperture since its fully mechanical anyway. And besides, theres no autofocus to lose anyway!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests