martin54
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:05 am

What Monitor Do You Use?

Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:16 pm

I use a fairly inexpensive Samsung 24" LCD monitor but I was wondering what other people here use; especially the screeners. If I remember correctly, a couple of years ago it was said that every screener would be given the same type of monitor?
 
Dubi
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:39 pm

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:15 am

Good question. I use notebook and 42 inch TV-LCD. Editing for viewing on small screen or big screen requires different methods. Once edited, pictures looks over-sharpened on smaller screens, while on big screen it is OK. Also some of my pics were rejected because being soft. After sharpening they look over sharpened to me, but not for screener. Why, I don't know and I didn't ask. It is that sharpness must be edited very carefully - just right. My method is unsharp mask, layer mask, and brush in photoshop. With this I just delete sharpness on inclined lines where jaggies are most visible. And I never had this trouble on my old crt monitor.
Stick with smaller sensors and smaller screens  .
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 pm

I've got a dual monitor set-up with an expensive Eizo and a cheapo Dell - obviously I use the Eizo for editing, however by using a calibration tool (I use a Spyder 3) it is surprising how close the Dell can get to the Eizo.

So my first recommendation is to get a calibration device - cheaper than a quality monitor, and a) it may result in a better display on your Samsung and b) there's not much point in getting a better monitor unless you take the time to calibrate it.

I've had a look at pics on my LED TV (OK, its just an LG), and while they look fine, I'm not sure I'd trust it (or any TV) for editing as there is a hell of a lot of processing of the image going on with a TV - contrast and gamma tend to be boosted, and while I can adjust the color, I have no way of calibrating it (don't know if any TVs allow this). I suspect images are also artificially sharpened as pics which look right on my Eizo look a bit 'edgy' on the TV.

Although monitors and TV's share the same technology, they are intended for different purposes and tuned accordingly - though maybe with higher end TVs it is possible to use them in a neutral state.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
User avatar
yerbol
Crew
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:18 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:52 am

My notebook and office PC are both HP so I find convenient to have same brand screens.
With best regards from Almaty
 
jrowson
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:18 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:02 pm

I have a 20" Dell IPS LCD from 2006 which is nice apart from the horrible anti-glare coating they use on it, which has a fine coloured crystalised look to it. I've been looking at new screens and might replace it in 6 months or so. My current favourite candidate is a 27" model from Hazro which apparently uses the same sort of IPS panel as Apple do in their cinema screens but for a fraction of the price. The only thing putting me off is that they do seem to be having a fair few quality control issues. I'm looking for alternative suggestions if anyone has anything amazing up their sleeves.
James Rowson. Canonite and lover of all things L. JAR Photography.
 
martin54
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:05 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:39 pm

Thanks all for your replies! Probably I'll get the Spider 3 and focus on calibration first.

Regards,
Martin
 
Geezer
Posts: 1413
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:37 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Fri May 04, 2012 1:15 am

Until now, I have used the display on my old 20 in iMac, (which I'm typing this on right now); the thing has always had a very sharp image, but it's getting "long of tooth", so a couple of weeks ago I bought a new 27 inch iMac; Talk about a fabulous image........unfortunately, due to the press of having to make a 43 mile round trip to the hospital and back, every day for over a month now, the new iMac is still sitting patiently in it's un-opened box, on the floor beside my computer desk.

I have never used a calibration device on the iMac, but it's really invaluable if you are seriously "into" photo editing. I'm "into" so many different things that I sometimes don't get around to taking my cameras out of the house for days on end. (And living where I do, I don't do much aviation photography as a rule.)

As for the computer to edit your photographs with.............. I've been a Mac fan for over 10 yrs now, and I personally like the iMac better than anything else; the new one I just bought has a quad core processor, has 4 GB of RAM at the moment, but I have two 4 GB modules I just bought (from MacConnection), which, like the iMac, are still sitting un-opened in a box; (it's only a 2 min task to insert the two 4 GB ones, then I'll have 12 GB of memory; if I ever need more, I can always add more modules, up to a total of 16 GB; (I doubt that I will have the need to though)

As a side note..........I bought my "better half" a new 17 Dell lap top (with windows 7) about 6 months ago; the display on it is "decent", and she likes the thing for what she uses / used the thing for, but then I bought her a new Kindle Fire, and the kindle is "with her", 24 / 7; she sleeps with the thing, does her email with it, does her FB with it; meanwhile, the Dell is sitting on a table, gathering dust. (For my part, if I had to use windows 7 more than 5 minutes, I'd quit "computing" !)

Charley
Stupidity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result; Albert Einstein
 
User avatar
kann123air
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:35 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Fri May 04, 2012 2:11 am

Quoting ckw (Reply 2):
So my first recommendation is to get a calibration device

How do I get a calibration device? I've suffered the same problems for a while....when it is rejected for over-sharpening, it looks perfect to me, and when it is perfect it looks soft to me.

Thanks!
Now more than ever, moving forward with the new American.
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Fri May 04, 2012 12:24 pm

Quoting kann123air (Reply 7):

How do I get a calibration device? I've suffered the same problems for a while....when it is rejected for over-sharpening, it looks perfect to me, and when it is perfect it looks soft to me.

You may be misunderstanding the purpose of calibration - it is purely for adjusting the color & contrast of the display. It won't help with how sharp something appears - though having said that, if your contrast is way off, an image may appear a little sharper or softer than it really is.

Just Google "monitor calibration" and you will find a range of devices, but sharpness is more likely an inherent quality of the device you are using.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
Tomskii
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:42 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Sat May 05, 2012 4:49 pm

Samsung 23" here: 2333HD It was considered when I bought it as one of the better 300 EUR range screens. Now that I see my granddads new ASUS IPS panel I have to say that mine was fairly cheap and good. (in comparison to the Asus)

Only differences I see is that the white is whiter and that the colours are a bit more 'real'.
Nikon D90 + Nikkor f4.5-5.6 18-105mm + Tamron f4-5.6 70-300mm
 
User avatar
kann123air
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:35 am

RE: What Monitor Do You Use?

Sat May 05, 2012 7:13 pm

Quoting ckw (Reply 8):
Just Google "monitor calibration" and you will find a range of devices, but sharpness is more likely an inherent quality of the device you are using.

Ok will do, thanks a lot!
Now more than ever, moving forward with the new American.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests