Candace
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:06 am

In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:15 am

Hello

I'm just after some opinions from those in the know please. I have tried searching the forum (it's very educational for beginner photogs!) but can't find anything specifically on this.

When is it best to apply sharpening to your photos? Is it in-camera or afterward in PS and the like?

I am using a Canon 60D with an EF 100-400mm lens if that makes any difference.

Thanks
Candace
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:39 am

A very simple rule to keep in mind. Sharpening can always be added - much harder to take away.

On top of that, in camera sharpening is an all or nothing affair. With a bit of PS skill, sharpening can be applied only to parts of the photo that need it - eg, the aircraft - and areas such as sky left unsharpened. Sharpening the sky has no benefit and only serves to accentuate any noise.

So the best results are possible by sharpening in post. But it takes time, and a little skill. A badly post sharpened image will look worse than an in camera sharpened image.

Of course for optimum quality, you would shoot RAW in which case in camera sharpening does not apply.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
Candace
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:06 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:10 am

Thanks Colin, that makes a lot of sense, particularly about not wanting to sharpen all parts of the photos.

Quoting ckw (Reply 1):

Of course for optimum quality, you would shoot RAW in which case in camera sharpening does not apply.

I am shooting in RAW too. Does this mean that the picture style attributes (such as sharpness) are not applied at all, or that they can be adjusted when editing?
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:06 am

Basically any attributes are applied only to the jpg, so you will see them on the LCD. The RAW file contains data which has been unprocessed in any way (though that might be debatable).

However, depending on the RAW convertor you use, it is possible that the convertor could recognise which settings you used and apply them when you open the file in the convertor. But, even then, unlike a jpg these settings are not "baked in" and you can change them to whatever you want. Your RAW convertor may also have presets of its own which may or may not mirror those available in camera.

Personally I never use any camera presets when shotting RAW as at best they have no effect - at worst, they can mislead or confuse the issue!

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4635
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:06 am

RAW contains all the detailed image data so picture styles can also be changed later.

Karl
 
Silver1SWA
Crew
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:57 am

Quoting Candace (Thread starter):

Colin has explained everything very well as usual but I will share my process.

Because I shoot in RAW, I have in camera sharpening turned all the way up purely for LCD viewing purposes. For me, it really helps me know after a shot if I nailed focus and got a sharp shot. As explained above, this can easily be changed after in post during RAW conversion.

Since I use Adobe Camera Raw, there is a default setting in the sharpness tab. I believe it's automatically set to 20 or 25. I change this on every photo, due to personal preference, to 50 to give me a nice crisp high res photo before the rest of my process in CS6. Then when I size down, usually to 1200px, I duplicate the layer and add USM at 500, .2 and 2. Then using a layer mask with brush set to 28%, I erase areas that look a little over sharp. This process has worked extremely well for me.
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:03 pm

Quoting Silver1SWA (Reply 5):
Since I use Adobe Camera Raw, there is a default setting in the sharpness tab. I believe it's automatically set to 20 or 25. I change this on every photo, due to personal preference, to 50 to give me a nice crisp high res photo before the rest of my process in CS6.

Interesting - do you know there is a preference option (somewhere!) so you can make 50 your default?

You can also set the sharpening to appear only on the preview in ACR, but not apply it to the processed image.

That's my preferred set up - I think sharpening should be the last thing you do to an image. My reasoning is as follows - the unprocessed image will have smooth tonal gradations. If you need to make any changes to the tone curve, colour balance etc, in PS6, these changes will retain the smooth gradation.

Sharpening can break the smoothness by introducing higher levels of contrast between adjacent pixels - if you sharpen before adjusting the tone curve this can have effects on how those enhanced edges appear ie. I think you'll find that image adjustments will be more likely to produce ugly artifacts if applied after sharpening.

On the other hand, it is possible to do all your curve and color adjustments within ACR and not need to do much (if anything in PS6). In theory, I would have thought that if you could set up all your image adjustments in ACR and then convert this would provide the best quality (because the changes would be applied directly to the RAW data instead of a processed file) - indeed I've seen a number of people advocating this. But I haven't been able to find much if any difference and I find tools in ACR are harder to use.

So now I use a mix ...

In ACR - colour balance, noise supression (if required) and sometimes colour adjustments (as ACR offers a different adjustment palette to PS6)

In PS - tone curve, any local editing then sharpening.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
viv
Posts: 2953
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:17 pm

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:27 pm

The short answer is "No".

The long answer is "No".
Nikon D700, Nikkor 80-400, Fuji X Pro 1, Fujinon 35 f/1.4, Fujinon 18 f/2
 
Silver1SWA
Crew
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:12 pm

Quoting ckw (Reply 6):
Interesting - do you know there is a preference option (somewhere!) so you can make 50 your default?

Yeah, I do know that. I just prefer a clean slate and like you touched on above, I make the majority of my tweaks, with the exception of fine tuning contrast if needed, in ACR. So once I import into PS all I really have left is sizing and sharpening.

I got in the habit of increasing the sharpness to 50 in ACR when I had a 100-400 which tended to be rather soft. It's also the reason I added in camera sharpening for LCD viewing. I don't have the lens anymore but I have continued the habit and like I said, it has worked very well for me.
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
vikkyvik
Posts: 11757
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:58 pm

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:42 pm

Since I shoot RAW, it's academic, but typically I have in-camera sharpening set to 4, and I usually leave it there when editing photos in Canon DPP.

Quoting ckw (Reply 6):
Interesting - do you know there is a preference option (somewhere!) so you can make 50 your default?

What I've done is create a set of settings presets (mostly by ISO value). So I just click on the "presets" or "settings" tab (can't remember what it's called), and choose whichever one applies. The only thing different between each of them are the NR values - but the rest of the settings (brightness, contrast, and sharpening are the major ones) are set to where I want them, so I don't have to go through and tweak each one (though I do that sometimes anyway).
I'm watching Jeopardy. The category is worst Madonna songs. "This one from 1987 is terrible".
 
megatop412
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:40 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:26 pm

Quoting ckw (Reply 1):
Sharpening can always be added - much harder to take away.

Interesting. If my memory serves me correctly, somewhere on a recent thread, the exact opposit was stated
 
JakTrax
Posts: 4635
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:30 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:06 pm

Quoting megatop412 (Reply 10):
the exact opposit was stated

As far as I'm aware it's much harder to 'soften' and overly sharp image than to sharpen a soft one (but it does of course depend on how soft the image is and whether that softness can be attributed to micro-blur).

It's quite irrelevant if you shoot in RAW anyway.

Karl
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:58 pm

Quoting megatop412 (Reply 10):
Interesting. If my memory serves me correctly, somewhere on a recent thread, the exact opposit was stated

Well of course its very easy to add blur to an image ...

What I'm getting at is that sharpening (once applied and saved) changes pixel data ... and of course that's a destructive process in so far as data from the original image has been altered. Short of an image editors undo function (which of course is limited to as long as you have the history data available) I'm not aware of any process which can recover the original pixel data.

There may be a way of simulating the original, but as this is in effect a further edit on already altered data, you would then be moving still further from the original.

And of course this is a reason why in camera sharpening can be problematic (if you shoot jpg) - if you overcook it, those jaggies or other artifacts are very difficult to remove.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
Candace
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:06 am

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:06 am

Thanks so much for all of the opinions and info everyone! It has helped me a lot to understand this process and I appreciate it   My next photos may not get rejected for softness but hopefully I can train my eyes against over-sharpening too!
 
User avatar
NZ107
Posts: 4946
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:51 pm

RE: In-Camera Sharpening - Yes Or No?

Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:00 am

Quoting Candace (Reply 13):

Don't forget about the feedback forum if you want any help with particular pictures. Good luck!
It's all about the destination AND the journey.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests