COEWR2587
Topic Author

Continental Airlines: EWR-AUA-EWR

Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:07 am

I'm new to Airlines.net and I thought why not give a trip report. Before you read it, I'll let you know, if it's not good, be kind, It's my first. Also, its from 2003 since I made this for a school report. Anyways, here it is.

CHECKING IN (Newark)

If you've been to Newark in the Continental terminal, then you know it can be pretty crazy. This time, it was one of the most craziest I've seen. Imagine, an early Saturday morning, during spring break on a rainy day...OMG!!! I'm a member of Continental's Elite membership. I went to my line in the BusinessFirst/Elite line at check in, somebody needs to better organize this. For some reason, I can't figure out, it takes everyone else in the airport such a long time to check in, me and my family...under five minutes. This is because about less then half of the people in that line were in first class and definitly not elite members. Finally we were checked in and could leave that mess.

Continental's newly remodeled terminals are pretty nice at Newark, very clean and FULL of stands, shops and places to eat and look out the windows.

BOARDING

When I looked out the window, I was sad to see the aircraft was only a Boeing 757-300. Other airlines use big, widebody aircrafts with room to move around and have personal inflight entertainment, but flying with Continental, you will learn they really don't use big airplanes that much in the U.S. unlike other airlines. Like usual, they boarded First class and elite passengers first, then they started from the back to the front of the plane. It ended up being a sold out flight and packed, again since it was a small plane on a long international route.