fedex710

Continental/American ECO., ELP-IAH Part 1

Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:06 pm

Hello all ! ,
This is my first time writing a trip report so I hope you like it!

Departure:
Airline : Continental (United Logo)
Flight # 401 ELP-IAH
Departure Time : 6:00 AM
Seat: 10F (X) Economy
Aircraft : 737-500
Flight Time : 1 hour 56 Minutes
6/23/11

I was flying with my family to a part leisure part business trip , I wasnt planning on going but since we were using our airlines miles , it wouldn't cost a thing for me to go so my parents happily let me go.
Using miles can be a hassle , most of the time you cant get a good flight using 12,400 miles. There were 2 Flights , One leaving at 6 AM , At another at noon , Since my Mom hates flying and if she has to fly always chooses the bigger aircraft we chose the 6AM ( It was a Boeing 737-500 ) , Our return gave us no options ( We had a meeting to go to Friday morning which would end at 1 ) The only option was a flight that would get us in really late and we didnt want to do that , and it was a ERJ , ( My mom kindly said no ) So we decided to come back on American ( With a stop in DFW ) My mom said the MD-80 was a ok aircraft and she happily chose that flight.

Check In:
I checked us in and chose our seats online , we were also checking in one bag so I decided it would save us time if we paid for it online.

We arrived at the airport at 4:35 AM , Since El Paso isnt a really big airport , there really isnt a need to arrive at the airport 2 hours before. We proceeded to the Continental ( United Logos ) Check in desk where the supervisor ushered us to a self service machine and basically did everything for us , she printed our boarding passes and checked in our bag , within 10 minutes we were on our way to security.