Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Max Q
Topic Author

Why didn’t the Marines buy the AH64 ?

Sat Aug 08, 2020 7:39 pm

Years ago the US army retired the Cobra attack helicopter and replaced it with the AH64 Apache, I’m no helicopter expert but from everything I’ve read it’s an extremely capable, very survivable and quite a fearsome aircraft, although the original Cobra was very effective the Apache seems to be a quantum step up in that role

Marine aviation emphasizes close air support so why did they choose to retain, then upgrade to the ‘Super Cobra’ and it’s much older legacy design instead of purchasing the AH 64, perhaps the ultimate helicopter for that purpose ?
The best contribution to safety is a competent Pilot.

GGg

Dutchy

Re: Why didn’t the Marines buy the AH64 ?

Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:57 pm

Isn't the USMC in the habit of keeping their a/c quite long?
Many happy landings, greetings from The Netherlands!

cjg225

Sat Aug 08, 2020 11:42 pm

Undoubtedly this'll get moved to Military shortly...

As Dutchy points out, the USMC keeps their equipment for a long time. They are the smallest and, in many ways, least-well-funded of the US armed services. They have to make do with hand-me-downs and older equipment a lot. It keeps things simpler for them to keep the AH-1 variants than adopt a totally new and totally different airframe like the AH-64.
Restoring Penn State's transportation heritage...

johns624

Sun Aug 09, 2020 12:15 am

Another reason is that the Cobra only has two blades. The AH64 would have had to be redesigned with folding rotors.

Newark727

Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:46 am

I got the impression that navalizing the AH-64 was totally possible, they just had other funding priorities at the time.

Dutchy

Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:12 am

johns624 wrote:
Another reason is that the Cobra only has two blades. The AH64 would have had to be redesigned with folding rotors.