Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

copper1
Topic Author

Suicide.. Desperation Or Selfishness?

Sun Jul 02, 2000 4:57 am

As many of you know I am a Police Officer. One of the least pleasant types of things we deal with is suicide. This past Monday I went to another one. This time it was a 45 year old woman who hung herself in her basement and was found by her husband. Now this is not the first nor I am sure the last suicide I will attend. This one was different in that I knew the woman and had known her for about ten years. I knew she had been suffering from depression and for whatever reason this past Monday was her last day here on earth among the land of the living.

As is often the case she left a note. This note said the usual things, " its not your fault, everything is yours now, I won't be a burden to you any longer etc, etc, etc."

After work a bunch of us were sitting around talking about the call and two schools of thought were predominant. The first was that people who commit suicide have reached the end and they can simply no longer continue to live in te pain that they feel. The second was that people who commit suicide are selfish individuals and everything has to revolve around them and that by killing themselves they guarantee that they will be the subject of much discussion.

Both trains of thought have merit as far as I am concerned but I am still unsure as to which camp I fall into.

I do know however that it is devastating to the surviving family members and they are always left with questions. The notes left behind never answer any questions they simply cause more to be asked and they are questions we will never have answers to because the one capable on providing those answers is dead.

The bottom line on suicide in my OPINION ( stress opinion ) is that it is a permanent solution to a temporary problem.

I look forward to your opinions and feedback on this delicate issue.

Copper1

ctbarnes