navymidn
Topic Author

Why Does Nascar Attract Hate?

Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:02 am

It seems like everywhere I go, and on these forums, and even among my family, people seem to get their kicks by making fun of NASCAR, and the fans of said sport. In fact, I'll probably get flamed for calling it a sport. The fans, including me, have been stereotyped as being "neanderthals" and "beer guzzling rednecks" and other such descriptions. It gets tiresome for me, considering that I am a NASCAR fan, but I am a Prelaw student at a Big 10 university, and don't even look like the "redneck" stereotype. I am a bit of a redneck, having worked as a cowboy/ranch hand/equipment operator through highschool, but I don't think that defines why I am a fan.

Also, people describe NASCAR as being boring, and just cars going in circles. As I saw in the thread about soccer/football (where ever you are in the world, call it what you will), people seem to criticize different sports without truly understanding them. To a fan, NASCAR is anything but boring, because there is strategy, and skill involved, which I think can be noticed if you just take the time to watch a race with a open mind.

This isn't meant to offend anybody, and I hope it doesn't. This is just me ranting in a place I feel I can about something that drives me nuts.

And by the way, I also watch/follow IRL and Formula One racing.
Law is a major base of civilized society

Newark777

RE: Why Does Nascar Attract Hate?

Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:10 am

First off, people make fun of the fans because a lot of them are from the south, and a lot of people seem to have a lot of pent up dislike for the south.

And a lot of people make fun of the sport itself because it is simply racing cars. Personally, I don't watch it except for the crash clips on Sportscenter, but I really don't really have anything against it.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?

CastleIsland

Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:10 am