Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

TuRbUleNc3
Topic Author

What Real Ale's Were Most Popular?

Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:19 pm

Upon looking in asda today, my curiosity got the better of me and i purchased a few 'real ale's' as they are called.

Im no expert so im asking you lot which ones you preferred/favourites or which were the most popular ones?

Today i got Newcastle brown ale, theakstons Old peculiar and Fullers ESB champion ale.

Also i got some murphys to try, no idea what its like though but im pretty fond of guinness!

I dont drink many real ales, im more a fosters guy to be honest.

LHMark

RE: What Real Ale's Were Most Popular?

Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:25 pm

Fuller's ESB and John Courage are tradtional favorites. They're larger breweries who used the 'tied house' system, where each brewery had 'their' pubs that could only sell their brand of beer. Good stuff, too, as is the Theakston's.

PlymSpotter

Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:16 pm

Old Peculiar is a nice one, drink it quite a lot. Other nice ones I can think of would be;

Hobgoblin
Spitfire
Just about anything from the Badger Breweries
Tanglefoot
Old Speckled Hen

All very good, worth buying lots and having a 'sampling' night  Wink

Dan Smile

ltbewr

Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:39 pm

Old Peculier...mmmmm, one of my favorites when I have traveled to the UK.

LHMark

Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:42 pm

Greene King is another personal favorite.

srbmod

Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:47 pm

Quoting PlymSpotter (Reply 2):
Old Speckled Hen

Spitfire

Two very good ales.

All very good, worth buying lots and having a 'sampling' night