Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

flymia
Topic Author

Foreign Policy Magazine Any Good?

Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:49 pm

I was just reading some things online and went to www.foreignpolicy.com. Is the magazine any good. It is not much money $18 but I do not know anything about it. Is it biased to one side? Anyone here subscribe to it? I am an International Affairs Student in Washington DC it seems like something I would like. Just want a few opinions before I pull the trigger on my big $18 buy Big grin

Thanks,
"It was just four of us on the flight deck, trying to do our job" (Captain Al Haynes)

PacNWjet

RE: Foreign Policy Magazine Any Good?

Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:16 pm

The institution of higher learning you attend most likely subscribes to the publication in print and/or online. If so, you might try reading it via the library (or online if available through your school) before you decide to purchase a personal subscription. I teach international relations at a liberal arts college and increasingly I have let my personal subscriptions to some scholarly journals lapse since I can access them anywhere using my school's institutional subscriptions that are available online.

IH8BY

Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:41 pm

I second PacNWjet. If you're reading from with in the college network, you may find that it authenticates automatically; if outside, you will usually have to access the publication through your institution's library website and possibly enter your network login details. However, and this may depend on your institution's particular subscription, you may find that you cannot reach the most recent issues of the publication online due to the publisher's e-journal embargo. This is the case for Foreign Policy - amongst other journals - at my university (I am an international relations student), which we access through EBSCO.
Have you ever felt like you could float into the sky / like the laws of physics simply don't apply?

flymia
Topic Author