Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

aaden
Topic Author

Life/Career Path/choices

Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:48 am

Hi all,

I'm a recent college grad- 2 years ago this summer. I've been struggling to find any type of career path, working jobs that are 10-15 an hr, and not directly in my field. Which is education.

I'm in that strange place where I need experience, yet can't get hired to get experience.

Is it that unusual for a 26 year old to struggle to do much?

Looking at the past two years, I'm not making much progress, and It's starting to weigh on me. I thought I'd be farther along than I am now.

Beardown91737

RE: Life/Career Path/choices

Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:12 am

Sorry to hear that. There is a lot of part time work going around since 2008. My wife works two part time jobs, both employers do not have full time employees. My son doesn't even have a job, but two of the places he works have gone out of business, and another job was temporary.

I offer this not to say you should be satisfied, but to say your situation is very common these days, so do not be discouraged. The economy will get better at some point.

There will be work in education. If you are in an area where the school age population is shrinking, then it will be a long wait. Here in Southern California, some districts are shrinking and others are growing at the same time.

Stick with it, and when the opportunity comes up, then show what you can do at the job.
135 hrs PIC (mostly PA-28) - not current. Landings at MDW, PIA, JAN.

tommy1808

Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:24 am

Quoting aaden (Thread starter):
I'm a recent college grad- 2 years ago this summer. I've been struggling to find any type of career path, working jobs that are 10-15 an hr, and not directly in my field. Which is education.

I'm in that strange place where I need experience, yet can't get hired to get experience.